Vegan Taco Casserole

I was feeling a need to take a step back from the one-pot-wonder meals that I’ve been concocting. As witnessed here and here, just this week alone and it is only Wednesday.

Enter: an easy casserole.

219

Apparently I’m being a lazy cook this week. But in all seriousness, when I saw Caitlin’s Corn Tortilla Casserole, I wanted to give it a test drive. Naturally, changes were made and in my opinion, of course, without tasting her version, the changes were for the best. Glad I went with my gut on this one.

Vegan Taco Casserole

Ingredients

    9 4" corn tortillas
    1 can tomato sauce
    1 can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
    2/3’s cup corn
    1/2 an onion, chopped
    1/3 c nutritional yeast
    1 small head of lettuce, chopped (Spinach also works)

Directions

Grease an 8×8 casserole pan.

Spoon a small amount of tomato sauce on the bottom of the pan, just enough to cover.

Rip 8 of the 9 tortillas in half.

Start layers:
2 tortillas (4 halfs) on top of the tomato sauce
1/3 of the corn, onion, beans, lettuce, nutritional yeast, and remaining tomato sauce.

Repeat x2.

Top with remaining 3 tortillas (2 halves and 1 whole).

Cover with foil. Bake at 350* for 40 minutes. Remove foil and bake for 5 more minutes.

Let rest for 10 minutes before serving.
Number of Servings: 4

Nutritionals here.

209

The main change I had was knock down the corn tortillas from 16 (!!) to a mere 9. This cut the calories significantly (those little buggers add up quick) and they way I arranged them in my 8×8 pan actually made nice neat little layers and avoided the center-16-layer-piece-conundrum.

179

I simply ripped the tortillas in half and arranged them so that the flat edges bumped up against the edge of the dish. And I did not miss the extra tortilla at all. I’m more of a fillings kind of girl anyway. (And I also used white corn tortillas, obviously.)

183

When it came to the top layer, my excessive filling caused the dish to mountain up a bit and the tortillas were sliding out to the edges of the dish so I impulsively threw on an extra tortilla on top to cover up the unsightly hole hence the odd number of tortillas. You could probably do without this last tortilla but what can I say. I’m vain apparently.

185

After a quick bake, The beauty came out.

193

Gorgeous.

205

I think this is a pretty solid basic recipe that could really be amped up and changed around. I added corn. I think black beans would be a nice substitute for the kidney beans. Enchilada sauce instead of plain tomato sauce would really kick this up a notch. We ended up giving our servings a healthy shot of Cholula and called it a day.

216

If I ever repeated recipes, I’d totally make this again.

8 Responses

  1. This looks epic.

  2. Haha, I’m totally guilty of never making the same recipe twice. Except my mac ‘n cheese, but I don’t actually use a recipe for that. I’m liking the Mexican casserole idea- reminds me that I haven’t made a Mexican pizza in a while. 🙂

  3. Life expectancy would grow by leaps and bounds if green vegetables smelled as good as bacon. ~Doug Larson

  4. I love this! Its simple to put together. I am always looking for meat free ideas for lent. Would you mind if I made this and linked it back to you? I bookmarked your website.

  5. Oh, that looks like lasagna doesn’t it? I want a piece of it now. Maybe I won’t use that much tomato sauce and beans but this one looks damn good!
    For more healthy recipes, please visit:
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes
    Check it out!

  6. Whoa: looks fantastic! 🙂

  7. This looks great for a quick weekday meal!

Leave a Reply

