Chili Rubbed Sole with Greens and Chickpeas

You know how I told you that you would be seeing a lot more fish around these parts?

153

Well here is fish numero dos: wild caught sole.

I have a confession to make.

I can’t recall ever having had sole before. I’m slightly ashamed. But when I saw it crop up on Evan’s blog twice this past week, I new I wanted to give it a try. And where better of a place to start than with his recipes?

173

I basically melded the two recipes in to one:

Chili Rubbed Sole with Greens and Chickpeas

Ingredients

    1 lb sole
    1 tsp chili powder
    1 T olive oil
    1 T butter
    2 cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
    2 16-oz bags of frozen chopped greens (I used spinach and mustard greens)
    Juice of 1 lemon
    1/4 tsp salt
    pepper to taste

Directions

Rub sole with chili powder.

In a skillet, over medium heat, heat butter and oil. Add sole. Saute 1 minute. Flip fillets. Saute 1 more minute or until flaky.

Stir in the remaining ingredients and heat through.

Number of Servings: 4

The stellar nutritionals found here.

170

This recipe gets another “Stupid Easy” mark.

Sauté the sole in a oil/butter mix. Really, you don’t need much. Just enough to coat the pan.

163

The fish cooks up quickly so keep an eye on it!

My frozen greens came to the rescue again!

166

I elected to use mustard greens and spinach instead of just spinach to give it the dish a bit more dimension. If you have never had mustard greens (fresh or frozen), you must try them. They are quite unique. If I had to place the flavor, I think I would say they taste, I don’t know, maybe a bit … mustardy?

177

The fish flakes apart in to really small pieces. The husband didn’t even really realize that there was fish in it until I mentioned something. “Hu, I thought it tasted a bit fishy.”

7 Responses

  1. Small correction, you have had Sole and you’ve got soul…ha ha funny how I did that…Seriously I’ve made you Sole Florentine and Stuffed Sole, you just didn’t know what you were eating (cause I’m sneaky like that).

  2. A nickel’s worth of goulash beats a five dollar can of vitamines. ~Martin H. Fischer

  3. beautiful chickpea recipe 🙂 i like such dishes 🙂

  4. That looks really great! I really like sole first off and then the chili rubbed on it would give it such a good flavaor

  5. Love the flavours – nice exotic touch. Must give this a try since looks so good!

  6. This looks wonderful! I bet I could make this with some of the fish my dad catches.

Leave a Reply

