Meatless Monday: Red Beans & Greens Stew

We are scraping the barrel with fresh food in the house right now. After all, it is the end of the month and we broke our food budget for February like a week ago.

079

One of the smartest things that I’ve started doing is stocking up on frozen greens so we always have something nutritious on hand to work with. Our local store carries everything from spinach to kale and all that is in between.

065

Obviously, these don’t work well for a salad but they are perfect for soups and stews and sautés. And after digging through the depths of the pantry, these collards were the perfect accompaniment for this hearty stew.

073

Red Beans and Greens Stew

    1/2 an onion, chopped
    4 cloves of garlic, minced
    1 Tbls olive oil
    2 cups chopped collard greens (frozen or fresh)
    1 15 oz can diced tomatoes (not drained)
    1 15 oz can of kidney beans, drained and rinsed
    1 cup cooked wheatberries (barley or wild rice would also work)
    1 1/2 cups chicken or vegetable broth
    1 Tbls chili powder
    salt to taste (I used 3 pinches)
    cayenne to taste (I used 3 dashes)

Saute onion and garlic in olive oil until fragrant.

Stir in the remaining ingredients. Bring to a boil then reduce to simmer for 15 minutes.

Number of Servings: 4
Nutritionals here.

090

I can’t get over how stupid easy this was to make and how utterly delicious and satisfying it was.

It starts like all good recipes do: with onions and garlic.

060

Add a few pantry items, shoving your gas bill out of your mind apparently.

063

Adjust spices to your taste and devour. I’m especially loving the chewy wheatberries. I even cooked extra to add to my oats this week.

083

8 Responses

  1. As a pescetarian I’m ashamed to say I’ve never had a wheatberry! I’ll also have to add this to my rotation. It sounds similar to some other stews I make, but I’m always looking for variations 🙂

  2. Does the fiber in beans irritate your stomach condition?

    • Actually it doesn’t. It makes my tummy a bit rumbly but that is all. I’ve got some answers to my tummy troubles. I’ll post soon… Kind of waiting to see how my recent diet changes go first.

  3. I love easy soups and stews like that, and I bet it’s even better as leftovers! 🙂

  4. No person in the world has more courage than the person who can stop after eating one peanut. ~Channing Pollock

  5. That looks so good. I would have that any day. Cheap, cheerful and healthy meals don’t come that often.

  6. This looks hearty and yummy! Good for you sticking to your food budget. Wish I could be as disciplined.

  7. Looks fantastic! I love a good stew: hearty, warming, delicious, and inexpensive. How could it get better? 🙂 Can’t wait to try this variation.

Leave a Reply

