Caprese Scramble

I told you that weekends were for really good breakfasts!

057

I found myself needing to use up the last of the fresh basil I had from making chicken caprese this past week. And of course, I had caprese on the brain. I recalled the caprese omelet that I had while in Arizona in October.

Now, I don’t know about you but I am far to lazy/impatient to make omelets. I know they don’t take much more effort than a scramble but a scramble, I can make two servings in one go instead of having to stand at the stove while the husband starts diving into his omelet and I’m waiting at the stove for mine to finish. That’s not my style. So I made a scramble instead. I also used sundried tomato instead of fresh since we were fresh out (hardy har har) and besides, I like the zing that the sundried toms give.

031

Start by sautéing some onion in olive oil.

034

Once translucent, stir in a bit of minced garlic. Sauté for 1 minute until aromatic.

035

For two, I used 3 eggs and 1/2 cup of egg whites for the scramble. We’re in serious weight-lifting mode so we are amping up our protein consumption.

037

Pour the eggs in to the pan and sprinkle in the mozzarella (I used almond cheese) and tomatoes.

040

Scramble them up!

043

Once the eggs are nearly ready, sprinkle on basil (I wish I had had more!) and give it a good hearty shake of fresh ground pepper.

047

Give it a good stir and plate it up. Top with balsamic reduction.

053

To be honest, the thought of vinegar on my eggs seems a bit odd but I knew it would work from the omelet experience. And as a vinegar lover, I was definitely digging it.

059

10 Responses

  1. I cant wait to try this!
    “I have simple tastes. I am simply satisfied with the best.” – Oscar Wilde

  2. What a fantastic idea! I’m obsessed with caprese after having an amazing Caprese Panini recently. I even have all the ingredients because of the pizza I made last night. Yum…

  3. This is right up my alley! Love it, the vinegar on it actually sounds really good.

  4. You omelet caprese looks fantastic … mmm!

    Hope you have a great weekend! :]

  5. Wow this looks really good and tasty. Yummy!

  6. […] a mouth-watering scrambled egg dish over at “Leftovers For Lunch,” that I wanted to try out. Made a couple of changes because as you know I gotta have some […]

  7. What a delicious idea. Love eggs and onions but if there’s other things, so much better.

  8. mmmmm I would love to be at your house on Sunday mornings!

  9. Love a scramble or omelette on the weekends. Yours looks great – eggs are so perfect for basil!

  10. May I have 3 helpings please?!

Leave a Reply

