Chicken Caprese

Insalata Caprese ranks pretty high on my list of foods I love – which believe you me, is pretty extensive.

071

I’m growing weary of the heavy comfort foods that generally accompany the winter months and longing for days of sunshine, kebabs on the grill, and fresh summer salads.

And while I know that tomatoes and basil aren’t exactly in season right now, I just couldn’t resist.

048

Start by salt and peppering two decently sized chicken breasts.

046

Sear them on a medium-high heat, just a few minutes each side to help lock in the juices and keep the chicken moist. Remove from heat and let cook a minute or two until you can comfortably handle them.

049

Filet the breasts and stuff with 1 ounce of mozzarella {I used an almond-cheese} and 3 large basil leaves.

052

Top the chicken with 3 slices of tomato and place in an oven-safe dish.

057

Bake at 350* for 20-30 minutes, depending on the thickness of your chicken breasts, until cooked through.

067

Top with basil chiffonade for fun.

074

My almond cheese obviously doesn’t get very melty but if you use traditional mozzarella, you will be left with a hot gooey mess that is to die for. A drizzle of balsamic reduction would be a welcomed addition to this meal as well.

7 Responses

  1. Ew. That’s a lot of cheese. But I know Mitch would LOVE this.

  2. Ooo how delicious is that!

  3. I’d love the taste of summer in your delicious looking entree!

  4. wow that looks soooo delicious and picture perfect my dear..

  5. Definitely refreshing and delicious! Thank you for reminding me of the nicer days to come. I can’t wait for a day with the grill… when will this cold go away!

  6. This looks so yummy! We have hit summer here in Central Texas so I am just waiting for the tomatoes to come in from the garden. This loks like a great way to use them.

Leave a Reply

