Meatless Monday: Okra and Cauliflower Vindaloo

Yep, another Indian dish. Sorry, I just can’t help myself.

070

And this time, I cheated. And I hardly cheat in the kitchen. But I cheated. And it felt soooo good.

016

I’m guilty of judging people for using prepared sauces and mixes. I know it is an easy way out and often very tasty but there is so much satisfaction out of scratch cooking. And there is definitely something to be said about knowing what exactly goes in to your food and being able to pronounce every ingredient.

But lordy. I might be a convert when it comes to this vindaloo paste. I foresee many vindaloo recipes in the semi-near future.

Okra and Cauliflower Vindaloo

Original Recipe here. Nutritionals here.

046

Ingredients

    1 bag frozen chopped okra
    1 block Extra Firm Tofu cubed
    2 Tbls olive oil

    1 Onion, chopped
    3 gloves Garlic, minced
    1 tsp grated Ginger
    1 Chili pepper
    1/2 head medium Cauliflower
    1 can Garbanzo Beans (Chick Peas), drained, rinsed
    2 cans diced
    Tomatoes
    4 T Patak’s Vindaloo paste
    Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions

In a large Dutch Oven or stew pot, heat 1 T olive oil  medium-high heat. Add the Okra and Tofu, together or separately. Depends on the size of your pot and how much room you have. You should have everything in a single layer. If not, you will stew and soften rather than brown. Do it in batches if as you add the vegetables you have filled the ‘first layer’. Sautee for 3-5 minutes until lightly toasted and set aside.

In the same empty pot add 1 T oil. Sauté the onion and stir for 1-2 minutes until softened and translucent. Add the ginger and chili. Simmer one minute. Add the garlic and cauliflower. Stir fry for 3 minutes.

Add the drained chick peas, curry paste and stir well to combine. When it looks like all your veg are coated with the paste and you’ve stirred it for 2-3 minutes more, add the tomatoes. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 20 minutes. Season to taste but gently. Stir occasionally. If it looks too thick add some water or vegetable broth.

Serve with warm Basmati or Jasmine rice!

033

Now this was a little more labor/time intensive than I would have generally liked for a weekday meal but it turned out so well, I really can’t complain! I did need to do my tofu and okra in separate batches but that step was worth it to get them nice and brown instead of mush.

018039

I served it over plain basmati rice and couldn’t get enough of it! I may have even had it for lunch and dinner the next day.

060

And just for some cuteness, this is what it is like in my kitchen on your average weeknight:

030035

Me in the kitchen in pajamas and ridiculous pink fuzzy slippers. Pippin always close by.

067

I spy a creeper!

4 Responses

  1. Awwww…pippin is so cute and definitely curious! Maybe he wants to try out your yummy dish too 😉

    Your vindaloo looks colorful and flavorful! Tastayy!

  2. I’m with you on the pre-packaged items, but I make a few exceptions and Pataks is one of them. It’s nice to have it easy once in awhile, leaves more time for other things…like catching up on Google reader.

  3. That’s an awsm dish ! I didn’t know you get vindalo paste !

  4. I love patak’s! What a great dish. I’ve never tried okra and cauliflower curry, thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

