Crockpot Coq au Vin

I don’t know how the weather has been where you are at but here in the Pacific Northwest it has been sunny but cold! The sun has been rising a bit earlier and staying out a bit later but my body is still craving warm, hearty dishes.

085

One evening last week, I had an appointment after work so I prepared a crockpot meal the night before. After seeing Coq au Vin on multiple blogs the past couple weeks, it was a no-brainer for what to make.

I didn’t follow any recipe and just used what I had on hand and pretty much eyeballed everything.

So all this prep work was done the night before.

Cook 6 pieces of bacon. Remove from pan. Cool, and crumble.

Divide a small chicken into 6-8 pieces. In the same pan, brown the chicken pieces. If you don’t feel like dealing with a whole bird, obviously you could just use boneless, skinless chicken breasts or something.

004

Lay the chicken on the  bottom of the crockpot.

011

Top with 4 quartered red potatoes.

013

Add a layer of baby carrots.

015

One bag of frozen small pearly onions go on top of the carrots.

018

Then a layer of quartered mushrooms. I used baby bella’s.

019

About a cup of chicken broth…

022

… and about a cup of red wine. I used cabernet sauvignon from Black Box.

028

Give it a healthy shake of fresh ground pepper, sea salt, and dried thyme.

034

Top with crumbled bacon.

037

I refrigerated this overnight but you could just start it up right away if you are doing it the same day. The next morning, I turned it to low just before leaving for work (7:15am) and the husband turned it off when he got home (4:45pm). It was a tad overdone but we don’t  have a fancy crock with a timer. 6 hours would probably be enough if you have that option.

084

I served it with basmati rice to soak up all the yummy broth. The chewy pieces of bacon were obviously the best part.

099

It definitely needed another shake of pepper and some garlic wouldn’t hurt. (I just forgot when I was prepping it.) But this is a perfect winter weeknight meal. We got 5 hearty servings out of it but it could have easily stretched to 6 or 7 servings.

089

8 Responses

  1. I make this quite often in my crock pot, too … it really is a delicious meal and there’s always plenty of leftovers.

  2. YUMMY!!!
    Meanwhile, they make crock pots with timers?

  3. I made this a few weeks ago but not in the crockpot. I love the idea of doing it in the crockpot! Good call on the bacon too. 🙂

  4. Most crockpot recipes don’t appeal to me, but this one looks fabulous! I bet the aroma in your kitchen was amazing!

  5. I was looking for something just like this to throw in the crockpot today- sounds perfect for this chilly windy weather!

  6. I’ve always wanted to make Coq au Vin, but never find the block of time to do so. It’s great that there is this version in the crockpot!

  7. I am so making this asap! I love my crock pot, but I run out of interesting and tasty ideas so fast. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

