Tofu Jalfrazie + Winners

040

Mmmm, Indian food! I can’t get enough of it! The only problem I do have it that the stuff I really like – paneer, butter chicken, rasmalai – is all cream and dairy laden. I find myself struggling to make Indian that is dairy free and different from just a standard curry. I know, I know. I can get tired of curry? It’s true. I’m ashamed. But the great thing about Indian food is that there is a ton of variety and the tomato-based jalfrazie is perfect for my lactose intolerant belly.

I used this paneer jalfrazie recipe and just subbed out tofu for the paneer; it has a very similar texture so it totally works!

002

Tofu Jalfrazie

Ingredients
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 block extra firm tofu, cut into cubes
  • 1 onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 bell peppers, cut into strips
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger root
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon garam masala
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 2 tomatoes, pureed
  • 1 tablespoon ketchup
  • salt to taste
  • dash of cayenne
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
Directions
  1. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Fry the tofu in the hot oil until golden brown, 7 to 10 minutes. Remove the tofu to a plate lined with paper towels, reserving the oil in the skillet.
  2. Fry the onions, bell peppers, ginger, and garlic in the hot oil until the onions are browned, about 5 minutes. Season with the garam masala and turmeric; cook and stir until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Stir the tomatoes, ketchup, and salt into the mixture; continue cooking until the tomatoes are tender and the oil separates from the gravy. Return the tofu to the skillet; raise heat to high and cook until the gravy is thick, about 10 minutes. Garnish with cilantro to serve.

039

I’m not gonna lie. My gravy never got “thick”. Maybe my tomatoes were too watery? They were pretty big tomatoes. But it was still yummy. And the basmati rice absorbed the excess delightfully.

049

I love how light and fresh this dish was. And really simple to make. Can’t beat that!

***

And now, for the winners of the SparkPeople Fit, Firm & Fired Up giveaway:

image

and

image

Email me your address and I’ll send you your new workout DVD!

Thanks, everyone for participating!

5 Responses

  1. I love indian food and it’s a shame that I don’t try to make it more often. I have like 2 recipes that I do and that’s it. I guess some of the recipes are intimidating.

  2. yeah tofu and paneer are good substitutes. love what you’ve done with the tofu.

  3. yummy healthy combination looks wonderful

  4. I bet all of those spices made your kitchen smell amazing!

  5. This looks really delicious. We make dahl sometimes but other than that don’t make much Indian food at home. This looks like a great recipe to try, thanks!

Leave a Reply

