The V-Day Dinner

Valentines Dinner 2011 076

Oh, you know, just your average night in the Hortin household! (I wish!)

Valentines Dinner 2011 083

To celebrate Valentine’s Day, we opted to stay in to save a few bucks. We are actively in “pay shit down” mode and the idea of dropping a Benji or two on dinner literally made me sick to my stomach. But who needs to go out when you have your own studly waiter pouring champagne? Not I!

Valentines Dinner 2011 079

We also splurged on some local grass-fed rib-eyes for the occasion. You generally don’t see much steak in this house and it is generally a financial thing. And the fact that I only like to super the local happy cow industry and it isn’t always readily available.

Valentines Dinner 2011 020

So we picked up these two beauts for $15. Score, right? I thought so. Mine is so obviously the one on the right. Moo! (I kid.)

We gave them a nice rub down with some olive oil and Cowboy coffee spice that Huz scored with his totally awesome and kickbutt birthday this year to go handsomely with his grill that has only been used once due to torrential downpours in the great Pacific Northwest. Nope, not bitter at all.

Valentines Dinner 2011 014

So, since I wasn’t about to force my man into the horrific weather that has now torn down two full panels of our back fence (true story), we opted for the broil-in-the-oven method. It’s actually pretty darn easy and the steak came out perfectly so I can’t complain. And we stayed dry so that’s a plus.

Valentines Dinner 2011 016

I topped the steaks with sautéed onion and mushrooms. And I decided that they were only ok and that restaurants must put about a million pounds of butter in theirs to get them so delicious but I wasn’t about to do that for the sake of our ever-growing waistlines.

Valentines Dinner 2011 103

The rub did give the steaks a lovely smokiness that I don’t think we could have replicated on the gas grill anyway so that was nice. It was subtle so you could still really taste the beef. Its what’s for dinner, you know!

Valentines Dinner 2011 152

To go with our sides of beef, I broiled some asparagus tossed in EVOO and a garlic herb spice blend.

Valentines Dinner 2011 117

And on the side, I attempted Mara’s Bacon Garlic Rolls but I have come to the conclusion that I didn’t allow the yeast to rise enough due to a cold house so they weren’t as fluffy and delicious as hers.

Valentines Dinner 2011 108

Yep, a totally average Monday night!

Valentines Dinner 2011 134

And lets not forget about dessert!

Valentines Dinner 2011 086

I don’t know if you guys know this about me but I totally have a thing for ladybugs. I even have one tattooed on my hip. They are just so damn cute! So needless to say, when we saw these truffles, we just couldn’t resist.

Yes, we. If I recall correctly, I’m pretty sure the husband is the one that recommended us getting them. Yes, yes indeed.

Valentines Dinner 2011 090

They were pretty good but I don’t know if I would get this brand of truffles again. I think I’ll have to try the other brand that Central sells to make a sound judgment call on that one though.

Happy Valentine’s Day, my loves!

Valentines Dinner 2011 148

11 Responses

  1. There is nothing wrong with staying in! Cooking a romantic dinner for two is sometimes nicer.

    Those steaks looks great. The rub sounds delish!

  2. We stayed in and actually grilled steaks! Can you believe it was clear and warmish here? The truffles are adorable. Glad you had a Happy Valentine’s Day.

  3. We stayed in for Valentines too. Just easier, and I enjoyed myself just as much as going out.

    Two things: 1: those are some awesome champagne glasses.

    And 2: I LOVE any rubs with coffee in them.

    Nice choices!!

  4. Here, here for staying in on Valentines! All the restaurants are too crowded anyways.

    The truffles are absolute perfection. Wouldn’t want to even eat them, just stare at them. Okay…I would eventually eat them because of my darn sweet tooth.

  5. What a fabulous dinner!!! And such a cute pic of your sweet doggie (and hubby!!!).

  6. What a great meal! I am sure this all was super delicious!

  7. Cute truffles. I love ladybugs too.

  8. Sounds like a perfect night to me! Adorable truffles 🙂

  9. food looks delicious

  10. I hope pip got a little bite, too. Love that she’s in all the pics.

  11. I think a great piece of steak would definitely be the ultimate romantic dinner. Yes, mushrooms do need a good amount of butter (but it’s worth it and you just walk extra the next day).

Leave a Reply

