V-Day Pancakes

Deliriously delicious, I promise.

003

Pancakes. Just your basic pancakes. That’s how it all started anyway.

For a special Valentine’s Day breakfast, I wanted to make pink pancakes. But I couldn’t find my red food dye. So I just stirred in red sprinkles. It sort of did the trick. They turned out more peach than pink but the white chocolate chips I added to the batter on a whim made up for my less than pink pancakes.

002

And while I was mixing up my batter, I just happened to be whipping up my first ever batch of homemade nut butter – a blend of walnuts, blanched almonds, and dark chocolate chips.

Yep, that’s right.

And really, I was only planning on drizzling the warm nut butter on top of the stack but I couldn’t help myself.

010

I mean, really. How could anyone resist?

009

You would think this would be ridiculously sweet but really, it wasn’t. The walnuts and almonds in the nut butter (made with a few pinches of sea salt, naturally) cut it nicely.

And the sprinkles? They are just for fun.

012

7 Responses

  1. Those look amazing!!! What a yummy treat!
    Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your love!

  2. What a yummy stack!!! So pretty, too~

  3. Now THAT is a pancake 😉

  4. I found a chocolate hot cake recipe for my husband to try because he’s our pancake and french toast maker in our house. But we “ran out of time” to try it this weekend. Sigh.

  5. Wow! That is a special Valentine’s breakfast. Hope you had a good one!

  6. Panckes look devine, loaded with flavor and love! Hope you had a wonderful Valentines, thank you fro sharing 🙂

  7. Oh so yummy! I’d eat those for dinner, too.

Leave a Reply

