Single Girl Eats

While the husband’s away, the wife will play!

Well, not really. My version of “play” is to not have a menu plan or actually cook a whole lot. Don’t get me wrong, you know I love to cook. I just lose motivation when I’m the only mouth to feed.

The first few days he was gone, I actually did a respectable amount of “cooking”. I didn’t ever follow a recipe, I just threw crap together with the sole purpose of using it up before I left for San Diego. We had a boatload of produce lying around:

007008

Broccoli, zucchini, squash, tomato, jalapenos, mushrooms, bell peppers, carrots, half an onion, half an avocado. A full bunch of bananas and two apple. There was also 4 sweet potatoes hiding in the pantry. Sheesh. Well, At least I knew I would be hitting my minimum requirement for fruits and veggies the next few days, right?

Breakfasts were leftover waffles smothered in banana and leftover pancakes smothered in peanut butter.

006110

I even ventured out and did rice with craisens and green onion for breakfast one morning. Odd, I know.

San Diego 011

And I had my fair share of eggs in all forms.

I made scrambles full of veggies.

015

Obligatory breakfast burritos.

San Diego 002

And mandatory breakfast sandwiches.

005019

I made quinoa boats stuffed with leftover Tunisian Couscous.

012

I made pasta with sautéed veggies.

001006

I made salmon patties with even more sautéed veggie.

036

When I got home from SD with a near empty frdige, things got interesting.

I channeled my inner Caitlin with a sweet potato, beans, salsa, and plain Chobani.

009

And roasted sweet potato and broccoli.

012

I must also add that the majority of the meals I prepared were consumed standing up. In the kitchen. With a glass of wine. Except breakfast. I’m not cool enough for wine with my eggs. Wine with waffles? Now that is something I might be able to get behind.

After two weeks of fumbling around in the kitchen, I finally got my stuff together for this last week.

The highlight I think was preparing Jenna’s Carbonara For One. Eggs and bacon at dinner? Um, yes please?

Carbonara 004

It also inspired me to do a “For One” recipe of my own: Chicken Piccata For One.

103

There are a few other really good recipes to come. And I may have to repeat them for the Huz. I really can’t wait for him to come home… TOMORROW!

7 Responses

  1. Your “single girl food” is much more impressive than mine ever was. If I’m cooking for myself I am less inclined to do anything much other than a salad and some fish or a Lean Cuisine. 🙂

  2. There’s something about cooking for myself that I really enjoy. I love spending a ton of time in the kitchen preparing something amazing, out of pure love and appreciation for myself. Then, I pour a glass of wine, sit at the table and enjoy sitting alone. It’s so fantastic sometimes! But, it is nice when the hubby comes home after a couple of weeks away too.

    All of these dishes look fantastic!

  3. My single girl eats usually consist of guac + chips, too! Haha, or, black bean burgers with… more guac.

  4. It all looks pretty tasty to me! Especially the carbonara for one. That’s on the menu next time my guy goes out with the boys! Theresa

  5. Those are some good eats – so healthy! My alone time is with a bowl of cereal…no milk. 🙂

  6. You are good! I hate to eat alone .. i think i will eat chips and fruits and soda 😀 😀

  7. Those quinoa boats look delicious! You’re such a good eater. When I’m on my own I eat soy dreamy from the container and handfuls of chocolate chips.

Leave a Reply

