Chicken Piccata For One

Now, here is one thing you typically don’t see a lot of here: recipes for one. It’s just not my style, obviously. I cook for at least 4 mouths so we have plenty of leftovers to get us through. But with the Huz gone for a few weeks for work, I can’t cook for four every night and I don’t want to eat leftovers at nearly every meal either.

So when I found a single chicken breast in the fridge with no plans for its demise, I decided that I would just cook a single chicken breast for one. I settled on piccata since capers aren’t the husbands favorite thing.

103

Chicken Piccata For One

  • 1 chicken breast, pounded
  • 1 Tbls whole wheat pastry flour
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 Tbls butter, divided in half
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 2 Tbls white wine
  • 2 Tbls lemon juice
  • 2 tsp capers
  • 2 ounces whole grain pasta
  • garlic powder

Cook pasta per package instructions omitting salt.

Sprinkle the pounded chicken breast with salt and pepper. Dredge through flour.

Heat 1/2 of the butter and the olive oil in a small skillet over medium-high heat. Add the chicken. Cook about 5 minutes until nicely browned. Flip and repeat until chicken is cooked through. Time may vary depending on the thickness of the chicken.

Remove chicken from heat and set aside. Deglaze the pan with white wine. Add lemon juice and capers and simmer a couple of minutes. Simmer while you prepare the pasta.

Once the pasta is done cooking, drain and return to pot. Add remaining butter and a couple dashes of garlic powder. Serve chicken over pasta and drizzle with the piccata sauce.

085

I was really surprised by how quick and easy it is to actually prepare a semi-decadent dinner for one and it is a heck of a lot better than a frozen dinner like so many singles turn to.

And pounding the chicken is a great way to get out some pent up anger, right? Or at least that’s what I was telling myself.

022

Salt and pepper, a healthy amount of pepper.

025

Dredge in flour.

027

Heat butter and oil in a small skillet.

034

Add chicken and cook about 5 minutes. Flip!

039

Remove from heat and prepare sauce.

Deglaze pan with white wine.

053

Add lemon juice and capers and simmer a few minutes to heat through. Pour over chicken.

073

Devour. With wine. And a small salad to round out the meal. And wonder why it took you two weeks to cook a good meal.

099

11 Responses

  1. I’m drooling! Chicken piccata is one of my favorites 🙂 (so much so – its what we served at our wedding) – I feel like every other recipe I’ve seen lately makes it sound so difficult! Thanks for this!

  2. Hi Leah –
    Whoa! Were you at all intimidated about what to share after your “10 Reasons…” post? Concerned about photos or originality?
    No need! Your piccata sounds just perfect for one.
    Best wishes for continued success.
    LL

  3. I’m a big big fan of Piccata! Lemon and capers (a relative of my favorites…olives). I also make this with turkey cutlets….mmmm good!

  4. I just saw this on the food network the other day, but it was made with fish. This looks super delicious!

  5. Ooo, I love chicken picatta! It’s so easy to throw together, just need a lemon! Thanks for the single serving recipe!

  6. I love it all! Mouth watering actually. I often have nights that l I’m just cooking for me. This is perfect and so yummy too.

  7. I probably shouldn’t have read this post an hour before lunch- it made me so hungry! I’m also a big “cook double and eat leftovers” kind of cook, but sometimes just making a single serving is sorta liberating!

  8. I was on a capers kick last week and found out how many people are not fond of them. This looks too good to share even a bite.

  9. Looks so yummy … beautiful presentation with the steps in details

  10. […] Leah’s Chicken Piccata – it looked so good and so easy, and Chicken Piccata always reminds me of our wedding, since that’s what we served! […]

  11. Capers aren’t my favorite either, but I love piccata without them! This looks beautiful though, even with them.

Leave a Reply

