L4L Accent Vlog

Yeah, yeah, I’m on that bandwagon.

The words:
Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

The questions:
What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
What do you call gym shoes?
What do you say to address a group of people?
What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
What do you call your grandparents?
What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
What is the thing you change the TV channel with?

7 Responses

  1. Wow we say things the same a lot, wonder why? your brother says you sound stoned, as if he knows what that supposed to sound like…..

  2. I call it a clicker. I am not old.

  3. We pronounce these differently: Aunt, Data, New Orleans, Pecan & Again.

    My answers were basically the same as yours, though I did think soda as carbonated drink and the grandparents bit, we used spanish terms.

    I don’t think you have an accent. I’ve been told most westerners don’t, but you’ve been in various parts of the world.

  4. This was fun to watch!
    Almost the same as yours … data, caramel, pecan I pronounce differently… I live near Chicago so that’s the accent I speak with … and English is a second language for me… moved here from Macedonia when I was 11. I know I also have a bit of that foreign accent floating around in some of my words. 🙂

  5. CLICKER!!! It’s a CLICKER! (this drives the Mick nuts). It must be an East Coast thing…I’m from the “old line state” but I would NEVER associate myself with being Southern as my parents are from PA and I am a blue northerner all the way.

    My aunt is an “ant” but since I don’t speak to either of my “ants” I don’t have to use the word.

    I enjoyed this videoblog.

  6. I’m Canadian, from the west coast and I’m the same except for route and coupon. Sure is a little bit different too. Fun to hear!

Leave a Reply

