San Diego: From French Bistro to Taco Shop

Miraculously hangover free, Saturday started with a nice lazy start and we moseyed our way downtown for brunch at Café Chloe.

San Diego 291San Diego 290

We met up with Hallie but I was a bad blogger and didn’t take a picture with her! Have I mentioned how much I adore that girl? No? Well I do. I might even crash her wedding. Truth.

/tangent.

I started with a handle-less soy latte.

San Diego 295

For brunch, I enjoyed poached eggs over a mushroom brioche.

San Diego 298

It was really delicious and fancy but not the most filling. The salad went mostly untouched because it was infected with that nasty bitter curly endive that I despise so much.

The husband ordered the special: crab omelet.

San Diego 297

I think he was disappointed with the portion size so a little dissatisfied with the meal in general. Oh well, onward and upward!

San Diego 301

We took in a bit of sightseeing to walk off our brunch.

San Diego 308San Diego 312San Diego 315

And since brunch wasn’t super filling, we had a little snack.

San Diego 317

Can’t go to California without a little fro yo!

San Diego 319

It was a ridiculous combo and absolutely delightful. Why can’t we have self serve fro yo around here?

Late lunch/early dinner was a meet-up with my girls!

San Diego 329

Claudia, me, and Jen – we met back on The Daily Plate a couple of years ago and it is always fun getting together with them! This time, our foodie endeavors led us to Lucha Libre – a taco shop that was featured on Man v. Food.

San Diego 325

The line was actually insane when we first arrived so we saddled up to the bar next door. We also had some time to kill while waiting for the girls to arrive. The guy working at the bar actually recommended us calling in the order to avoid the line and we could eat at the bar. Best. Idea. Ever.

San Diego 321

I ordered the mahi mahi taco meal.

San Diego 322

It was pretty tasty.

Jodus went with the Man v. Food challenge: The California Burrito, complete with shrimp, steak, and french fries in the burrito!

San Diego 323

It was a behemoth but he had no problems tackling it.

All in all, my opinion is that this taco shop was not worth the hype. I’d have rather gone to a sit-down Mexican joint with Margaritas on hand but to each their own; I couldn’t go to San Diego and not have Mexican!

{PS – Afterwards, we totally hit up a bowling alley and I totally kicked ass.}

2 Responses

  1. Oh the good ole Cali burrito. Mitch gets them all the time. Well maybe not all the time but probably more often than anyone who cares about their arteries should! I am proud of Jodus.

    (I have heard so-so things about that place too, but preference in taco shops is SUCH a personal thing that I didn’t want to give you my recommendations…maybe next time!)

    Oh and I heart you. That is all.

  2. next time you are in the mill creek area, there is a brand new self serve froyo shop!! its called skinny dip 😀

Leave a Reply

