New Rules of Lifting for Women: Stage 1

So this time around with doing the NROL4W weight program, I’m going to do a quick vlog after each stage to just share my thoughts and little tidbits about it. Here’s the first one! Enjoy!

My actual schedule:

(Workouts are in teal, my personal calendar is pink, our calendar is purple. I think you can click to enlarge? If not, I’m sorry. Someone teach me how to do that?)

December:

image

As you can see, we started off very strong and consistent then it definitely waned when my MIL was in town and it took us a bit to get going again.

January:

image

The exercises with start and end weights. The first workouts are 2 sets of 15 reps and the last workouts went to 3 sets of 8 reps just FYI. Oh, except the ab stuff which started at 8 and went to 15 reps.

Stage 1A

Squats 15# –> 80#

Push-up 60* incline –> full pushup

Seated Row 60# –> 80#

Step-up 5 risers, 15# dumbbells –> 20# dumbbells

Prone Jackknife bodyweight only, 8 –> 15

Stage 1B

Deadlift 40# –> 90#

Dumbbell Shoulder Press 12# dumbbells –> 20# dumbbells

Wide Grip Lat Pulldown 60# –> 100#

Lunges 10# dumbbells –> 20# dumbbells

Swiss Ball Crunch 15# –> 35#

***

And for my own future reference, my weight went from 163 –> 161 but that’s a pretty standard fluctuation for me. Get in the 150’s and I’ll count it as a legit loss.

6 Responses

  1. Holla chickie! Oh, it’s like a phone convo, only a vlog. Haven’t heard you in forever. Hope you & Claud had fun!

  2. Loved the vlog! You know I’m a huge fan of NROL. Even though the first phase is kind of boring, you can’t argue with those strength gains. That’s amazing!

  3. Hi Leah!

    I am currently half way through Stage 1 of NROLFW. Susan (GBA) pointed me in the direction of your blog noting that you had just finished up. You had some awesome gains – I’m particularly impressed with your lat pulldowns – 100lbs is incredible!

    Anywho, I started a lifting blog chronicling my adventures with the program (and as a way to keep records & be accountable) over at http://theladylifts.wordpress.com in case you feel like checking it out! I’ll definitely be looking back to hear your thoughts on Stage 2 🙂

    DD

Leave a Reply

