Meatless Monday: Mushroom-Hummus Soup

Hey guys! I’m home safe and sound from a wonderful trip to San Diego! I got in late last night and tonight I’m going to pick up the dog from my dad’s. In the meantime, here is a recipe I’ve been hoarding as I obviously haven’t been cooking. This week, expect some different things: a vlog on my latest exercise endeavors, recaps from my trip, and some other fun things about what I’ve been up to while I’ve been doing my best to stay out of the kitchen for sanity sake!

***

Mushrooms, shallots, hummus, lemon? Count me in!

013

The Huz actually picked this recipe out of the Food Network Magazine that his coworker gave me.

Mushroom-Hummus Soup

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 shallots, minced
  • 1 1/4 pounds baby bella mushrooms, sliced
  • freshly ground pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons red wine
  • 6 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 sprigs thyme
  • 1/2 cup hummus
  • lemon juice
  • 2 scallions, roughly chopped
  • Greek yogurt, for topping

Directions

Heat the olive oil in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the shallots and cook until soft, about 3 minutes. Add the mushrooms, season with salt and pepper, and cook until the liquid from the mushrooms evaporates, about 15 minutes. Add the garlic and cook 1 minute. Add the madeira wine and cook 2 minutes, scraping up any browned bits. Add the broth and thyme; simmer gently, stirring occasionally, about 30 minutes.

Discard the thyme sprigs. Stir the hummus into the soup. Using an immersion blender, puree but leave some mushrooms remaining whole. Simmer 15 more minutes. Remove from the heat, season with lemon juice, salt and pepper. Ladle the soup into bowls and top with the yogurt and scallions.

It was a relatively easy recipe to throw together, once all the chopping was done.

Sauté the shallots.

024

Add the mushrooms and sauté for 15 minutes.

025027

Add 2 cloves of garlic and the wine.

029030

Then stir in the chicken broth and thyme and simmer 30 minutes.

034

Stir in the hummus (I used homemade).

037

Blend away! (My stick blender sure has been getting a lot of action lately!)

038

Let it simmer a few more minutes, it actually thickened up nicely.

043

I topped it with a huge dollop of Fage (that promptly sunk) and green onion.

048

It was an interesting soup. We didn’t really know if we liked it. And we definitely like all of the components individually but there was something that didn’t quite work with this. I don’t think I would make this again, just too odd. But I do like the concept of using hummus to make soups creamier!

059

6 Responses

  1. I would never have thought to add hummus to a soup but it’s a perfect way to thicken a soup without adding a lot of extra fat. Plus, the protein! Never mind all the health stuff, this really does look tasty.

  2. great soup 🙂 Perfect for this cold winter!

  3. Looks tasty and I’m sure veggie broth would be ok too! 😀

  4. I was wondering what your response would be. I didn’t much like this soup either. At least we dried it though, huh? 🙂

  5. Nice pics….don’t know if I could ever substitute humus for something like…oh lets say cream. Interesting nevertheless.

Leave a Reply

