Bringing In The Love

040

After we took down our Christmas Tree, we had an empty space where it had once been. It had previously been inhabited by the doggie dishes but we had to find a new home for those once the Christmas Tree infiltrated.

And I just can’t have an empty wall. I just can’t. I’m no good at minimalism. And we happened to have an extra shelf that was in the office. And I had plenty to fill it in the matter of minutes.

045

Friends, I would like you to meet our wedding shelf.

Now, maybe I’ve been reading too much Young House Love or something but I really wanted to have somewhere to showcase some of our special memories from our big day. We’re still newlyweds; I think this is acceptable behavior.

046

On the first shelf, obviously a wedding day picture – one of my favorites! Then I have a small vase filled with our RSVP’s, a copy of our invitation and our rehearsal dinner invitation. I don’t think this is a permanent fixture but it is fun to flip through when I feel like reminiscing.

049

On this shelf is also my bouquet. I am so thrilled that I have a special, handmade bouquet that will last forever.

052

My fascinator and our wedding album round it out.

055

The second shelf has one of our favors, a deck of cards perfect for Vegas. In the center is our guest book that my mother made for us.

057

This is really special to me. She, along with a friend, handmade each page. Staying true to my love of cooking, she made “Recipes for Love” cards for the guests to complete.

062

Some of them are funny, some of them are sweet, and all of them are special.

067065

On the bottom shelf there is mostly pictures, including a small album full of engagement and wedding pictures.

074

And my favorite picture of my dad and I on our wedding day!

I know it isn’t much, but I much prefer having these mementos out in the open instead of hidden away in the back of a closet like my dress is.

2 Responses

  1. very nice…I love it!!

  2. Such a great idea and they’d only get lost and lonely tucked away in a cupboard. Wonderful memories.

Leave a Reply

