Meatless Monday: Oh She Glow’s Vegan Lentil Walnut Loaf

A couple of weeks ago, when Angela posted her Ultimate Vegan Lentil Walnut Loaf, I skimmed through the ingredients and realized I had everything on hand so there was zero excuse to not give it a shot. It looked lengthy so it got pushed back to a free weekend project but it was certainly worth the wait.

164

I would call this a successful vegan meal! Yes Mom, even the mashed potatoes were vegan – no butter! Gasp!

Angela is so good about spelling out all the steps so this was really easy to follow. If you really want to try this recipe, please go look at her more thorough instruction.

I started out by blending the oats into a flour.

103

And cooking up the lentils in broth.

112

Then puree 75% of the lentils.

114

Sauté onion in olive oil.

119

Add in shredded carrot, apple, and toasted walnuts. A little too toasty, apparently.

Oh, and craisens. Angela uses raisens. I only had craisens. I think it worked just fine.

106124

Combine lentils, flour, breadcrumbs (mine are gluten-free and therefore neon yellow), flax “eggs” and ground flax, thyme, and the sautéed ingredients.

126130

Press it into a lined pan.

131

Top with the ketchup glaze: ketchup, maple syrup, and balsamic vinegar.

132135

Bake.

144

It held together nicely – I was worried about that, especially since I used gluten-free bread crumbs.

151

I’m not sure I would make this again; it took two hours to complete which is generally more effort than I like to put in to a meal. I’m a lazy cook. Can’t help it. But the flavor was good – though not a replacement for my beloved meatloaf. And it says something if my meatlovin’ husband liked it!

Curious about the nutritionals? I plugged them into SparkPeople here.

PS – if you make this, double the sauce on top!

7 Responses

  1. Wow, this is really beautiful! I’m all about vegetarian loafs (I’ve tried a mushroom one and am convinced that I like it better than the meat version!). Love that ketchup/balsamic glaze idea, I’m going to have to try that soon!

  2. haha my mom gets the same way around vegan food. “What do you mean, no butter in the potatoes? What if people want butter in their potatoes?!” glad to hear she’s not the only one!

  3. This is exactly what I wanted! Bookmarking 🙂

  4. Beautiful photos! I would love to dig right into this.

  5. This looks fantastic! I’d like to try this ASAP

  6. Mmmmm, interesting recipe. I think I will give it a try.

  7. I tried making it too, didn’t care for it. I find that OSG is more about smoke and mirrors, every recipe is the best ever, in reality, some are, most are mediocre.

Leave a Reply

