HUZ IN THE KITCH: Light Chicken Potpie

So, the last time I was in the kitchen, I told myself I’d try to choose a recipe that was a little more challenging. Well, I definitely succeeded.

002

A friend of mine at work brought in a copy of Food Network Magazine because they know how much Leah and I enjoy trying new recipes. All of Leah’s food-oriented magazine subscriptions have expired, so we were grateful for the donation.  We, of course, immediately scoured through it looking for interesting recipes to try and found a few gems. I was particularly curious about this “Light Chicken Potpierecipe.

I’ve never made chicken potpie before, and honestly, the idea seemed a little daunting. After all, I’m just a simple hubby trying to improve my limited cooking skills. But I was intrigued by the challenge and knew that Leah would provide expert supervision.

004

(What do you think of my new apron? Cute, huh?)

264

Surprisingly, the recipe was actually pretty easy for me to follow. It took awhile, but I just took it one thing at a time.

Ingredients

For the Crust:
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine salt
  • 4 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons 2% milk
For the Filling:
  • 2 small russet potatoes
  • 4 1/2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 5 medium carrots, cut into large chunks
  • 1 to 2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 large onion, finely diced
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup 2% milk
  • 3 stalks celery, sliced
  • 3 cups shredded rotisserie chicken, skin removed
  • 1/2 cup fat-free plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1/2 cup minced fresh parsley
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

Directions

Prepare the crust: Pulse the flour, baking powder and salt in a food processor until combined. Add the butter, one piece at a time, pulsing until the mixture looks like coarse meal. Separate the egg; refrigerate the egg white. Beat the egg yolk and milk in a bowl, then add to the food processor, pulsing until the dough comes together. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface and gather into a ball. Flatten into a disk, wrap in plastic wrap and chill at least 1 hour.

Meanwhile, make the filling: Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Prick the potatoes with a fork and bake directly on the oven rack until tender, about 45 minutes. Cool slightly, then peel and break into small pieces.

Bring the chicken broth, carrots and thyme to a simmer in a small saucepan over medium heat and cook 2 minutes; cover and keep warm. Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add the onion and cook until soft, about 8 minutes. Sprinkle in the flour and stir until lightly toasted, about 3 minutes. Add the milk, celery, potato pieces and the warm broth mixture and simmer until thickened, about 15 minutes. Remove from the heat and stir in the chicken, yogurt, peas and parsley. Season with salt and pepper.

Transfer the filling to a 2-quart casserole dish. Roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface until about ? inch thick and slightly larger than the dish. Beat the reserved egg white in a bowl; brush over the dough and season with salt and pepper. Press the dough against the sides of the dish. Place on a baking sheet and bake until the crust is golden brown, 20 to 25 minutes.

Per serving (1 cups): Calories 482; Fat 19 g (Saturated 8 g); Cholesterol 137 mg; Sodium 795 mg; Carbohydrate 47 g; Fiber 5 g; Protein 31 g

I did my best to stick to the recipe but had to make a few minor changes. I substituted soy milk for the 2%, and used the rest of the small red potatoes we had in our pantry instead of the 2 russet potatoes that the recipe called for. Leah strongly dislikes celery, so that had to go too. Frozen corn was a decent substitution, I think.

First up, was the crust. I’ve never made a crust and the whole time I was putting it together, I thought for sure that I’d screw it up. I mean really, separating the egg, adding small pieces of butter one-at-a-time…..I’m bound to mess up, right?

Wrong, I did just fine.

018021026016

Thanks to our food processor. All I had to do was add the dry ingredients; followed by the cubes of butter…one-at-a-time. And pulse until the mixture looked like course meal.

032046

041049

Then, toss in the beaten egg yolk and milk; and continue pulsing until the dough comes together.

050

Voila! Crummy crust dough. It’s supposed to look like this right? I sure hope so.

060

Form the dough into a pretty ball,

062065

072

then flatten the dough ball into a disc, wrap with plastic wrap and chill at least an hour (which was no problem, because it took me at least an hour to prepare the rest of the meal).

076077078084

While washing/prepping the potatoes, I was thinking that I may have gotten myself into more than I can handle when…..

095

Wait! What’s that?

099102

The most amazing wife in the world surprised her wanna-be-cook husband with a beer? Ooooooohhhhh yeah, she sure knows how to motivate me. I even found a use for the little pockets on my new L4L Huz apron…

149

Anyways, back to dinner. On to the chop, throw in multiple pots, stir, check, stir phase…

103104109116129132

Wow, look at all that onion.

138

Busy, busy, busy. I sure do like multi-tasking in the kitchen. Doesn’t stress me out at all (ahem…..sarcasm).

140

The recipe called for rotisserie chicken which we didn’t have so wifey suggested just boiling chicken and shredding it like we did when we made enchiladas. I’ve also never boiled chicken. I was surprised at how easy it was to cook and how easy it was to shred afterwards.

150

Sigh. Believe it or not, there’s still more of the throw in a pot, stir, check, stir phase…

158167179188193194201

Whew. I eventually got to the point when I was ready to transfer the filling to a casserole dish and roll out the dough. FINALLY…

214

We actually used a 2 1/2 quart casserole dish (the recipe called for a 2-quart) and it was overflowing. I’m not sure if our veggies were bigger or we didn’t boil down the liquid enough or what so if you plan to recreate this recipe, make sure you go up a size in the dish just in case.

On to the crust!

216217219220

Now for the scary part. Figuring out how to get the thinly rolled sheet of dough onto the top of the filling. After standing there staring at the casserole dish for a second, I heard Leah say “well, why don’t you just flip it on”. What a great idea, thanks hunny!

221222224226

Not perfect, but I’ll take it. At least this dish is starting to resemble a potpie. Now, I simply brushed the separated egg white onto the top of the crust and added a little bit of salt and pepper before tossing it into the pre-heated oven.

227235247256

After baking for about 25 minutes, we had ourselves a chicken potpie. Hooray!

260264

Even Pippin was excited (sort of).

270

The Wifey helped me dish it up, and voila….

274276

A watery, wanna-be chicken potpie was served.

286285

You know? I was a little disappointed with this meal after all that effort. I mean, it tasted ok, but I didn’t think it had a wow factor. Plus, it turned out more like a chicken soup pie instead of a chicken potpie. BUT, I do think I did well in the kitchen and that I’m a little more confident of a cook as a result. Plus, I had FUN too. Having fun cooking is a pretty good takeaway for me.

11 Responses

  1. Bravo for giving it a go. It looks beautiful with that crust, no? I made it and reviewed it a week or so ago and warned about the watery gravy. Bummer that FN didn’t walk through this to see the problem. I think your pie looks fantastic though.

  2. I kid you not, one hour ago I said “I’ve been craving chicken pot pie lately, I think I’ll make it this week.” Love the idea of just putting the crust on top, instead of having a crust all around it. I also really like pot pie with the biscuits on top, but I guess it would no longer be “pie” 😉

  3. Wow! I’m so impressed! You are so courageous! Looking good in that new apron (with the beer holder!) And it looked like you got Leftovers For Lunch 🙂 out of it to boot! 🙂 Watching all that food prep sure makes me hungry, and thirsty. 🙂 – Love you both- Dad

  4. Good job to the Huz!!! Maybe mine would do a little more cooking if I offered a beer? The pot pie looks outstanding!

  5. The apron/slash beer holder is perfect, you make it look even cuter! Maybe next time you should double the flour cook for chicken stew the first night and make it into a pot pie the second night so it would be less work…one of my favorite leftover tricks.

  6. I like the apron. 🙂

    I used to LOVE chicken pot pies. I’ve never tried to make it on my own. And it’s something I haven’t really eaten since I got healthy because it;s so high in calories. I like the “light” idea though…

  7. First and foremost, I love the apron!! Secondly, I’m impressed with Huz – good job! Looks like a lot went into that meal, and I am sorry that it did not turn out as you had wished. Nevertheless, I’m impressed! 🙂

  8. The whole cooking process looks great. I’m a big chiken fan so I’m going to try it as soon as possible !!

  9. Yummy, Yummy!! Beautiful photos.

  10. This is probably the most beautiful pot pie I have ever seen. Shesh…..I thought mine was nice. I love the apron too. Very appropriate:)

  11. I’m impressed! Great job for a pretty labor-intensive recipe. If only my husband could move on from making a bowl of cereal. {sigh}

Leave a Reply

