Caliente! Spicy Red Enchiladas

So I’m going to preface this entire post by saying this is my first time making enchiladas, ever. And by no means am I calling these authentic in any way. I sort of winged it after glancing at a few recipes and getting discouraged that they all called for canned enchilada sauce. That’s not how I roll. So creating an enchilada sauce became high on my priority list.

Spicy Red Enchilada Sauce

  • 1 cup tomato sauce
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 tsp Mexican seasoning (from the bulk section)
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • liquid from one 4oz can of diced jalapenos

If you aren’t in to super spicy, switch out the jalapenos for green chilies. And if you are watching your waistline, use water instead of oil.

003

Yes, folks, it is that easy to make a delicious enchilada sauce. Never, please, never buy canned enchilada sauce again. You’ll thank me later.

So to assemble the enchiladas, I boiled a couple of chicken breasts then shredded them.

005

I used two which made 4 very full enchiladas so if you are making a bigger batch, adjust accordingly. This would also be a really good way to use up leftover chicken breasts.

012

So in a bowl, combine the shredded chicken, the diced jalapenos (the the juice drained for the sauce), some diced onion and half a cup of the prepared enchilada sauce.

009

Give it a good stir.

028

Divide the chicken in to four then start stuffing the tortillas. I used medium “soft taco” tortillas.

037

Lay the tortillas in an 8×8 dish that has been lightly greased.

047

Once all the enchiladas are prepared, top with the remaining sauce.

069083

Sprinkle with cheese. I used a Mexican Blend that had pepperjack in it.

085089

Hmmm, which side is the boy side? I wonder…

096

Bake at 350* for 30 minutes. {You should cover it with foil. I did not and regretted it. The cheese was not gooey and delicious. All the moisture escaped.}

097

All baked up:

103

I topped the enchiladas with a little dollop of plain greek yogurt and a sprinkling of green onion.

111

Served up with some mexi-corn: corn with sautéed onion, garlic, bell pepper, and avocado.

122

Not gonna lie. We may have also had this for breakfast the next day.

119

8 Responses

  1. I have never made enchiladas either! Mitch says he doesn’t like enchilada sauce, yet he likes all the ingredients in your sauce. Maybe I’ll just make it anyway…

  2. Those look amazing! I love enchiladas. They are such an easy dinner to make when you don’t have a lot of ingredients on hand.

    We make enchiladas a few times a month but I’ve never tried to spice them up beyond adding chopped jalapenos. I will have to try it this way!

  3. looks yum! 🙂

  4. I just had an enchilada request today! Perfect timing. Spicy makes it a winner!

  5. Yeah for not using store bought enchilada sauce! Those enchiladas look wonderful.

  6. So good! There is nothing like a spicy enchilada! Love the look of your side veg dish too! Kudos on the homemade sauce! Who knew it was so easy?!?

  7. Your first time enchiladas really made my stomach scream : you do that too !!! :)) My hubbie is really into spicy sauces.

  8. Oh I bet those are just so delicious! The spicier the better for this gal!

Leave a Reply

