Pumpkin Black Bean Soup

Stop rolling your eyes. No, I’m not done with pumpkin yet.

Pumpkin Black Bean Soup 003

I was thinking about a dish that I could make just from my stocked pantry to add to our meal plan and after doing a quick evaluation, black bean soup seemed to be a quick, easy, and yummy thing I could just throw together.

And then I was preemptively adding it to my calorie counter and while browsing recipes to find one most similar to mine, I stumbled across a pumpkin black bean soup and I just had to have it. So have it, I did!

Pumpkin Black Bean Soup 018

2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
1 can (14.5-oz) diced tomatoes
2 cups pumpkin puree
1/2 an onion chopped
4 garlic cloves, minced
4 Tbls olive oil
4 cups vegetable broth
1 Tbls ground cumin
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp all spice
1/2 tsp. ground pepper
3 Tbls balsamic vinegar

Place oil, red onion, garlic and seasonings into a large pot.

Cook on low-medium heat until red onion and garlic brown.

Add the beans, broth, pumpkin and spices. Using an immersion blender, blend until desired consistency is reached. (I like mine a little chunky still.)

Simmer uncovered until thick, about 20 minutes. Before serving, stir in balsamic vinegar.

Pumpkin Black Bean Soup 004

Adding the pumpkin to the mix was a really great twist to my usual black bean soup. And another hidden vegetable never hurt anyone! I actually really liked how “creamy” it made the soup.

Pumpkin Black Bean Soup 007Pumpkin Black Bean Soup 008

The balsamic vinegar at the end is what makes this a really bomb soup.

Pumpkin Black Bean Soup 009

I topped our bowls with a little bit extra balsamic reduction for an added zing and a bit of garnish.

Pumpkin Black Bean Soup 022

Super tasty – Scouts honor!

Pumpkin Black Bean Soup 024

Psst! Need an immersion blender? Win one by commenting on this <—- post!

13 Responses

  1. That looks AMAZING! I am on a soup kick, so I might need to try that! YUM!

  2. This looks delicious! I tend to abandon pumpkin after the holidays (otherwise I go OUT OF CONTROL with it and I fear it won’t be so special to me), but I’ll definitely have to add this to the list for next year 🙂

  3. That looks delicious!! I’ve been wanting to make a squash soup but maybe I try this instead…

  4. This soup has a great flavor combination! Looks simple, too.

  5. This is damn near awesome. I must try this and I just happen to have all those ingredients! I’ll let you know when I make it!

  6. Wow!! What an excellent idea, we love pumpkin, we love black bean soup, why not put them together?? Nicely done!

  7. Oh that’s a delicious soup – love the combo of flavors! YUM!

  8. This sounds and looks great! I’m a big pumpkin lover and can’t quite be done with it yet either 😉

  9. Looks delicious! I may make a batch for lunches next week! 🙂

  10. Looks dee-licious! I love pumpkin soup. I like the flourish of balsamic on top too!

  11. That sounds and looks so freggin amazing!

  12. Oh, what a wonderful way to dress up black bean soup! I like black beans for the protein, but the taste is ho-hum to me, no matter how I spice it. Maybe pumpkin is what I’ve been missing all along. 😉

  13. This was a great meal for a cold rainy fall evening. Used cannellini and chick peas ( I wouldn’t use chick peas again, they made the soup a little grainy) and home made roasted pumpkin. served with a batch of Potato (leftovers 🙂 and green onion pancakes, a salad and a nice glass of wine. Thank you Leah for posting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

