Quinoa Boats

After you’ve been attacking the leftover holiday chocolates for days, all you want is a light easy dinner. Trust me, I know.

021

These are ridiculously easy and can be mixed up a million and one ways to keep things interesting which is really good for someone like me that gets bored with food.

024

You can call them stuffed peppers. I call them boats. I think of “stuffed peppers” when the tops are cut off and stuffed but here is a secret: you can put  more filling in the boats and you get more crunchy topping and it is easier to win. Boats are superior to cups.

So it is easy.

Make some plain quinoa.

001

Mix in some mixings. (Gorgonzola and craisens for us!)

003004

Fill the boat.

006

Top with bread crumbs. (I used a gluten-free variety so it’s super yellow from being corn based.)

008

Bake at 400* for 15 minutes then flip to broil for 5 minutes.

012

Enjoy!

016

8 Responses

  1. I love the boat idea! Very clever 🙂
    I would love to make a musroom and onion saute to put in my quinoa for this idea.

  2. Delicious!!! Looks so tasty and comforting!

  3. I’m always looking for ideas with quinoa – great idea!

  4. Very nice…love quinoa…big fan:)

  5. Ooooh I like that filling! That’s super yummy!

  6. I love quinoa… these look great!

  7. Oh my. This looks amazing!! And so healthy too! Thank you for posting this! I’m going to try them this weekend. By the way, the boat idea=genius!!

  8. WOW you’re right these look super easy. I’m going to have to give them a try.

Leave a Reply

