Vegetable Gumbo

I’m late! I’m late! For a very important date!

051

New Years, that is!

022

Supposedly, it’s good luck to have black eyed peas for New Years? I didn’t get that memo. I ran across this recipe looking for more vegetarian meals to incorporate into our meal plan.

053

Vegetable Gumbo

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 orange bell pepper, chopped
  • 5 cloves garlic, chopped
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • a dash of liquid smoke
  • 2 cups low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 bunch of Swiss chard, stemmed and chopped
  • 1 can black-eyed peas, drained and rinsed
  • Brown rice

Directions

Heat the vegetable oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add the flour and cook, stirring, until golden, about 3 minutes. Add the onion, bell pepper, garlic, 3 tablespoons water and 1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper. Reduce the heat to medium, cover and cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables soften, about 8 minutes.

Add the Worcestershire sauce, paprika and liquid smoke and cook, stirring, 30 seconds. Stir in the vegetable broth, scraping up any browned bits from the bottom of the pot, then cover and bring to a boil.

Add the greens and black-eyed peas to the pot. Reduce the heat, cover and simmer, stirring occasionally, until tender, about 15 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Serve with the rice, if desired.

When I was assembling and reading the ingredients more closely, I didn’t think it sounded like a gumbo at all but somehow the flavor was there!

Start by heating the oil.

008

And add the flour to make a roux. (I think this is the key!)

009013

Saute onion, bell pepper and garlic with 3 Tbls water and salt and pepper.

006016

Once tender, add Worcestershire, paprika, and liquid smoke.

023025

Stir in broth, cover, and bring to a boil.

030

Stir in the greens and peas, reduce heat to simmer, cover, stir occasionally until chard is wilted and beans are heated through. Season with salt and pepper.

040043

This was a deliciously hearty meal. We got 3 servings out of it and were sufficiently stuffed.

046

This is a definite make again! And I can feel my luck turning already!

051

10 Responses

  1. Don’t forget some green cabbage, it brings money in the new year!

  2. Oooh this looks delicious!

  3. Wooohooo this looks so goooood! Hearty, warm, comfy meal…love it!

  4. I’ve never had liquid smoke, but I am sure my husband would love the flavor of it in this dish!

  5. Your vegetable gumbo looks incredible, so flavorful. I love gumbo and it’s been forever since I’ve made it. After seeing your delicious looking gumbo, I think it’s about time I made some! 🙂 Thanks so much for the recipe, it sounds wonderful.

  6. really looks wonderful!

  7. I didn’t think I was hungry until I stopped by. The gumbo look sooo delicious!! I’m going to try this out soon, thanks! =)

  8. This looks so nutritious and delicious! I love the concept of your blog. Very eco too, using up the left overs!

  9. Your vegetable gumbo looks incredible, so flavorful.

  10. yum what a great recipe I love gumbo but its so hard to find a good vegetable recipe.

Leave a Reply

