Gorgonzola and Apple Stuffed Pork Chops

Ok, something is going on. I’ve done it again. A really, really good dinner – without following a recipe. My, oh my!

blog 231

Now, we don’t eat much pork, well, besides bacon, but that doesn’t count. My mom used to make pork chops, fairly regularly if I can recall correctly. And I was never crazy about them. I always thought they were sort of dry and tough. But when we were at Costco, I couldn’t resist. I just couldn’t.

blog 098

8 pork chops – huge pork chops – for $11. Oh yes. I like cheap meat. But I refused to just pan fry it with dry seasoning as I am accustomed to. I needed to amp these babies up and give them a WOW factor.

I don’t know where I got the hair-brained idea to stuff them. I must have seen it… somewhere. And half a block of gorgonzola staring me down in the fridge seemed perfect. And I’ve seen apple and pork chops plenty of times. Alas, a recipe was born.

  • 4 large pork chops
  • 1 tbls bacon grease (or butter)
  • 1/2 an onion, slices
  • 1 granny smith apple, chopped
  • 4 oz gorgonzola, crumbled
  • salt and pepper to taste

I started out by giving the chops a healthy dose of salt and pepper.

blog 097

Over medium-high heat, heat bacon grease until liquid then sear all sides of the chops, about a minute per side.

blog 102blog 108

Mmmm, bacon grease!

blog 116blog 128

After the chops have been seared, remove from the pan and butterfly the chops.

blog 144blog 150blog 162

In the same pan with the residual bacon grease, add the onion and apples and sauté until tender, stirring occasionally.

blog 156

Wait for it…

blog 176

Place cheese on one side of butterflied pork chops.

blog 169blog 177

Then add the apple mixture to the pork chops. If your cheese is more crumbly than mine, you can mix it in directly with the apple mixture instead of having it separate.

blog 185

It gets a bit messy, so feel free to dig in.

blog 196blog 200

Using toothpicks, or poultry string if you are fancy, close the chops as best you can.

blog 202blog 218

Once the chops are stuffed, stick them in the oven at 350* for 35 minutes or until cooked through. This may vary depending on the thickness of your chops.

blog 224blog 227

Drool.

blog 228

Remove toothpicks and devour.

blog 232blog 241

12 Responses

  1. Oh that looks sooo good!

    I’m actually going to a friend’s house this week for my birthday dinner. I requested pork chops because it’s the one thing the bf and I cannot make. They always turn out too dry or overdone. 😦

  2. I cannot believe you called my pork chops dry and tough, oh the horror! I didn’t make them very often, ask your Baby brother, their his favorite. But obviously they made an impression on you. I’ll add that to my goals for this year, learn to cook pork chops?

  3. MMM..yummy! I just stuffed the pork today..After looking at yours I am getting hungry! :))))
    Awesome photos!

  4. Nicely done!! Love your little “observer” in the pic!
    Isn’t it nice when you make something up and it really turns out good? This one looks like a keeper!

  5. Leah, what a fabulous looking dish! We love pork chops, but I’ve never made them with blue cheese…ingenious!

    And I, too, love your sweet pup!!!

  6. This sounds SO good. I mean, when have apples sauteed in bacon grease ever been a bad thing?

  7. This looks delicious. I absolutely love pork chops, but I agree they can get dry if you don’t cook them properly. I will definately be making this soon, thanks for sharing!

  8. I love the picture of them right after they come out of the oven! A cheesey, goey mess! Drool is right.

  9. Oh yum. I am positively drooling right now!
    Love the flavour combination you’ve used in this dish, and also the fact that you’ve used bacon fat to brown the chops (bacon fat makes everything better, no?). I’ve even got all the ingredients on hand right now, so I guess I have no excuse… I’m so having these for dinner later this week!

  10. Oh this is fantastic! We served something very similar at my bridal shower and people were all over that plate! It is a very tasty dish… I’d love to have it again.

  11. These look so satisfying! With your great instructions it probably even something I could make!!

  12. No person in the world has more courage than the person who can stop after eating one peanut. ~Channing Pollock

    Looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

