Fridge Clean-up: Jamaican Edition

With the departure of my mother-in-law, I found my fridge riddled with random items and no meal plan in sight.

blog 001

So I put my creative thinking cap on and tried to make the hodge podge that was my fridge into something delicious, easy, and satisfying. And I succeeded.

blog 020

My inspiration, I suppose, was a meal I had at Claimjumper, back when the Huz was the BF, pre-living in sin together, even! We were probably going to a movie at the mall – a typical date night. I ordered the Jamaican Jerk Chicken that was served over a sweet potato. I remember it being really satisfying. And while I didn’t replicate it exactly, I’m pretty sure that my version is just as good and dare I say, healthier?

I started by chopping up 1 huge sweet potato, 1 large carrot, half an onion, and about 1/4 of a head of cauliflower. I added an entire head of garlic, peeled, and tossed it all in the over at 400*.

blog 002

About 15 minutes in, I decided corn would be good too so I threw a cup of that in for good measure.

10 minutes later…

blog 011

I tossed the veggies in with 1/2 a bunch of chopped cilantro, 4 sliced green onions, and the juice from one lemon (that the rind had been zested for dinner the night prior).

blog 006

A dash of olive oil, and a dash of agave later…

blog 013

For some protein, I made “Caribbean Jerk Chicken”. Probably not authentic by any means but it got the job done.

I started out by marinating 2 chicken breasts, cut in to strips, in about a cup of coconut milk that I randomly had open in the fridge.

blog 004

I heated a skillet and added my favorite fat: bacon grease.

blog 009

Saute the chicken and sprinkle both sides with Jamaican jerk and a dash of cayenne.

blog 010

I served the chicken over the roasted vegetables.

blog 017

The spice of the chicken and the light freshness of the veggies from the cilantro and lime were a great compliment to each other.

blog 021

I’m always super proud of myself when I concoct something without a recipe as my security blanket. Not too shabby if I do say so myself!

blog 024

5 Responses

  1. It looks great. Good job!

  2. I love cooking with bacon grease. I feel so odd having a jar of it in the fridge. I worry that someone’s going to look in my fridge and ask what it is.

  3. mmmmmm this sounds delicious!

  4. I love to find creative ways to use me odds and ends in the fridge. This looks fantastic!

  5. My fridge clean-up never comes out looking that awesome. Great job.

Leave a Reply

