Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Arugula and Mushrooms

When your mother-in-law comes to visit, you bring out the big guns.

328

Gnocchi.

A heck of a lot of work.

Worth. It.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Arugula and Mushrooms

Inspired by this recipe.

Ingredients

  • 1  cup block of tofu, pressed and pureed
  • 3  pounds orange-flesh sweet potatoes, pureed
  • 3  tablespoons  packed light brown sugar
  • 1  cup  grated parmesan cheese
  • 2  teaspoons  kosher salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon  freshly grated nutmeg
  • About 4 cups flour
  • 1/4  cup  olive oil, divided
  • 1  tablespoon  minced garlic
  • 1/4  cup  minced onion
  • 1  pound  baby bella mushrooms
  • 2  cups  vegetable broth
  • 3  tablespoons  butter
  • 12  ounces  baby spinach leaves
  • 1  teaspoon  kosher salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 1  tablespoon  chopped fresh thyme leaves
  • 1/2  cup  freshly grated parmesan cheese, divided

Preparation

1. In a large bowl, combine 3 cups sweet- potato purée, tofu, sugar, cheese, salt, and nutmeg. Gently stir in flour, 1/2 cup at a time, until a soft dough forms.

2. Working on a floured surface, divide dough into 8 portions. Roll each portion with your hands into a 15-in. rope, then cut into 1-in. pieces, sprinkling dough with flour if it gets sticky. Transfer gnocchi to a rimmed tray lightly dusted with flour.

4. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low. Working in batches of 15 to 20, drop gnocchi into water, stirring to prevent sticking, and cook until gnocchi are firm and float to top of water, about 5 minutes. Using a slotted spoon, transfer gnocchi to a strainer and then to a lightly oiled rimmed pan to cool.

5. Assemble gnocchi: Heat 2 tbsp. oil in a large nonstick frying pan over medium-high heat. Add gnocchi to pan and cook, stirring often, until browned, 5 to 8 minutes. Transfer to a large serving dish.

6. Meanwhile, heat remaining 2 tbsp. oil in a second large frying pan over medium-high heat. Cook garlic and onion until fragrant, about 2 minutes. Add mushrooms and broth and reduce for about 15 minutes. Add butter, arugula, salt, and pepper; cover and cook until arugula wilts, about 3 minutes.

7. Spoon vegetables over gnocchi and pour in broth. Sprinkle with thyme and half of parmesan. Serve with remaining cheese.

For a detailed step-by-step guide to making gnocchi, check out this post.

185199184223251299 

Honestly, I find making gnocchi to be incredibly therapeutic but boy is it time intensive.

Last time, I just did a simple sage brown butter. This time, I essentially made a mushroom and arugula gravy.

311

I found this recipe to mask the deliciousness of the gnocchi, actually. I preferred just the brown butter.

314

I also should have subbed out bacon grease for the butter. That would have made the world go ‘round.

318

There were no complaints from the Hortin’s. I’m too harsh a critic of my own cooking sometimes. But that didn’t stop me from devouring this nonetheless.

327

15 Responses

  1. We LOVE gnocchi but had never made it ourselves. I’d love to try it though. And sweet potatoes? YUM.

  2. Yum, delicious! I’d def. have to omit the mushroom for Hubster & my liking though! I’m glad you actually made the gnocchi from scratch, so many time to read recipes where people use store bought ones and post just the recipe for their toppings. Props!

  3. You are making me wish I had made some this week! Next time I know which site to go to for a fabulous recipe. Love the sweet potatoes in it.

  4. Wow!
    Gnocchi? Sweet Potato?
    This recipe is calling my name 🙂

  5. Wow this is a must try, I love gnocchi, I don’t know what to make first this one or the risotto… Drooling on the screen and its 4am! thanks nice job here!!

  6. Oh wow, that looks phenomenal!

  7. Great recipe! My mom made sweet potato gnocchi’s over the holidays last year but I never got the recipe from her. The sweet potato make them taste so much better in my mind.

  8. This looks really delicious. I love sweet potatoes and gnocchi so the combination is perfect. I will definitely give this recipe a try.

  9. Delicious! I need to buy some sweet potatoes and try it!

  10. Your gnocchi look incredible!

  11. Amazing, great post….love the gnocchi:)

  12. LOL…LOVE the post…short and to the point! But really lucky mother in law!

  13. These looks amazing. I am glad the in-laws were impressed. I might have to make these at my in-laws next visit!

  14. This looks great! I’ve only made sweet potato gnocchi once and it took forever, but you’re right it’s so worth it. Great job!

  15. It looks fantastic. I’ve only made gnocchi once and yeah, it took a long time. That’s mother-in-law love you’re showing there, making that gorgeous dish.

Leave a Reply

