Butternut Squash Risotto

After a few months of accumulating a nice little stack of magazines, I finally broke down and flipped through them feverishly the day after Christmas, frantic to find good meals to wow my mother-in-law with. Cooking Light did not fail me!

The October edition had a roasted butternut squash risotto with sugared walnuts that sounded appealing so it got tacked on to the meal plan. By the time I got around to making it, it sounded like far too much effort for my liking so I curtailed a lot of it but it still turned out amazing, as all risottos are.

044

Butternut Squash Risotto

Ingredients

  • 3  cups  (1/2-inch) cubed peeled butternut squash
  • 1  tablespoon  olive oil
  • 2  teaspoons  minced fresh garlic
  • 4  cups  fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth
  • 1.5  ounce  pancetta, finely chopped (about 1/4 cup)
  • 1  cup  finely chopped onion
  • 1 1/4  cups  uncooked Arborio rice
  • 1  cup  chardonnay
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons thyme 
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated lemon rind
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2  cup  shredded Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese

Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 400°.

2. Combine squash and 1 tablespoon oil, tossing to coat. Arrange squash in a single layer on jelly-roll pan. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until squash is just tender. Remove from pan; stir in garlic. Set aside.

3. Heat a large saucepan over medium heat. Add pancetta to saucepan; cook 5 minutes or until browned, stirring frequently. Add onion; cook 3 minutes or until tender, stirring occasionally. Add rice; cook 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Add wine; cook 1 minute or until liquid is nearly absorbed, stirring constantly. Add broth mixture, 1/2 cup at a time, stirring constantly until each portion of broth is absorbed before adding the next (about 20 minutes total). Stir in squash, thyme, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Stir in cheese just before serving.

We actually  made this on New Years Eve, and true to the female form, I was running late. In between drying my hair and doing my make-up, I saw this delicious sight:

028

A sexy Huz stirring away and a cute mutt supervising. Love it.

So, start by being lazy – buy prechopped squash.

003

Roast it up.

004

Saute some onion and garlic.

006

And delicious pancetta. (If I make this again, I’m doubling the pancetta. You can probably sub out bacon too.)

007012

Stir in the rice and keep stirring!

017

And the vino – a whole mini bottle worth.

020

Then start working the chicken broth. You know the drill. This is where hired help comes in handy.

026

When the risotto is at the desired consistency…

034

… stir in all the fixings.

021038

Stir in the parmesan and serve up.

041

And definitely have seconds.

13 Responses

  1. That looks awesome! I am dying to try this now. I love butternut squash. Squash and pasta dishes are my new favorite.

  2. This looks yummy! I love risotto and will definitely give this a try.

  3. How did I miss this recipe in that CL issue? Looks fantastic, especially with the sugared walnuts. What a treat!

  4. Now I need to go back to the grocery store and buy some butternut squash because that risotto looks soooo yummy! Great recipe!

  5. I love butternut squash risotto and this looks just awesome!! Sugared walnuts sound so good 🙂

  6. That looks so amazing! I love all the ingredients in this! WOW, thanks for sharing

  7. My husband hates rice but I think he’s going to be eating this soon whether he wants to or not! 🙂

  8. I have been buying pre-cut butternut squash at Costco because it is actually cheaper than buying a whole squash here. I love risotto and squash so this is a match made in heaven. Now, if I could just get my hubby to cook it for me…….

  9. Leah, this looks gorgeous, and so easy, I am definitely going to try it. Something I can get all the ingredients in England too!

  10. I love the added pancetta in this. Butternut squash risotto is good enough on its own, but adding that extra touch makes it stellar.

  11. I love risotto, and I’m all for shortcuts! Precut squash is a busy girls best friend! Great looking recipe.

  12. Awesome dish!!!! Of course, I always have a weakness for butternut squash… for breakfast, lunch and dinner

Leave a Reply

