Getting Cultured

We will readily take any opportunity to head in to the city to get a good dose of culture in and a house guest is the best excuse.

047

We spent a whole day tromping around Seattle last week. It was very cold but absolutely gorgeous out. Clear skies, the sun shining – can’t ask for anything more!

044

First stop: Dim Sum.

056

I’ve been craving dim sum since my San Francisco trip; I was far too hung over to enjoy a meal in Chinatown before we left like we planned and this was my first chance to get some in.

059057058

We waited, packed in like a tin of sardines, for an hour for a table. I guess you know it’s a good place if there is a wait like that on a Thursday afternoon.

048 049 050 052

The prawns were the table favorite, followed by the ginger pork dumplings. My favorite is the pork sticky buns.

060

Can you believe my darling husband had never had dim sum? I think he’s a convert now.

061

We left the International District, hopped on a free ride bus into the heart of the city for the ballet.

062

Ok, ok, just the movies.

image

Dark, exquisite, twisted, artistic. Totally right up my alley but I felt like something was lacking, I just can’t seem to put my finger on it.

After the movie, we walked down to our next destination and it took us right by the iconic Pike Place Market at dusk.

068077

I was surprised to see some of the vendors still open.

079 

And our number one reason for trekking into the big city?

084

The Seattle Art Museum, affectionately referred to as SAM.

086

A once in a lifetime opportunity: Picasso’s personal collection exhibit.

166

No camera’s were permitted in this exhibit but it was fascinating  to see. I’ve seen a few Picasso’s – namely at the Lourve in Paris – but these were his lesser known works including numerous sketches, sculptures, and photographs of him.

image

(Source)

We spent a fair amount of time with the other exhibits as well. I have a strong appreciation for art, even if I don’t “get it” all.

090

I love that art is open for interpretation. Everyone has their own preference.

102111 103118 156110121125127 128134136138143159161163 165

After we got our fill, we decided to bring the culture back down a notch with a cold beer and a meaty burger at Pike Pub & Brewery.

173175

We started with chips and salsa.

176

I ordered a schooner Extra Stout. My love for stouts and porters is a relatively new but fiercely strong one.

177179

And the Broken Arrow Burger for dinner – made with local, sustainable beef and my favorite local cheese: Beecher’s Flagship Cheddar.

188

Covered in delicious caramelized onions.

191

I thought it was delicious, but the service put a bad taste in my mouth, unfortunately.

***

I loved spending the day in the city. I wish we could afford to do it more regularly but I suppose their is a novelty to it if we only save it for special occasions. I also find it widely amusing that we call Seattle “The City;” it makes me feels so country.

7 Responses

  1. What a fun time! I love going down to the Market and the Art Museum when I visit Seattle. It makes me home sick.

  2. This looks like an awesome day! I love going to art museums and seeing all the funky stuff people make.

    This photo is really nice! https://leftoversforlunch.files.wordpress.com/2011/01/121.jpg What is in the cases? Ceramic plates and things?

  3. Aww you two look so cute. Love the Chinese food… looks really yummy. 🙂 xxx

  4. I love art museums! I would love to visit Seattle but it’s on the wrong coast! ;P Seriously the thought of such a long plane ride makes me antsy!

  5. Looks like a fantastic day 🙂

  6. You got your dim sum!! The pork buns are my favourite too. But I love the pork and shrimp dumpling too. Mmmm…. Can’t wait till we can do dim sum together 🙂

    I am SUCH a country girl. Just the other day I was talking with my New Brunswick friends in Toronto about how we still look up at the skyscrapers here and get amazed.

Leave a Reply

