Looking Forward: 2011

This year, I actually thought long and hard about some resolutions for this next year. I sort of got started early with trying to get our shit together and stepping up my exercise game but now seems appropriate to share some other goals that I have for myself, and our family in the coming year.

Get a raise.

And not just a little chump one. I’m going all out here and aiming for a steep 15% raise.

image

And I know I can do it. I will definitely have to grow a pair and ask for it but in a few months, after some serious transitions at work, I think I will be in a really great position to leverage this – potentially even a few nifty licenses to add to my resume as well.

Pay down debt.

And since numbers make goals easier to asses, I’m going to say that collectively, the husband and I, need to pay down at least $10k in credit card debt.

image

Yep, that’s a nasty amount. But what our grand total is is even nastier. Being dumb in college (like putting tuition and a 6 week vaca to India on credit) and getting married (you know, blingy rings and sweet honeymoons) have done a serious number to our debt load. This also goes hand in hand with getting a raise; hopefully we’ll be able to pay down at a faster rate than we are working at currently and do some serious damage.

Read more.

And for numbers sake, I’m going to say 12 books next year. One a month. I think it is doable. I want a nice mix of fun leisurely reads and educational reads. I’m currently working on Trading Up by Candace Bushnell so obviously, I’m getting started with the leisure.

image

I’ve been stocking up my library reading list on my account so I definitely have more than enough interesting books to get me through 2011. I’m hoping this will also pull me away from the laptop and tv a bit more.

Complete New Rules of Lifting for Women program.

So, yeah, I have to throw at least one fitness goal in there.

image

I started the program for the second time a few weeks ago and am well in to the first stage. The whole program will take about 6 months, depending on breaks between stages and things. Last time, I think I stopped at Stage 5 of 7? I just got burnt out. So this time, my goal is to finish it – with before and after pictures to show for it. I’m trying to not think about the scale so much but to think more about body composition and fitness level.

Get outside.

I say this as it is currently pouring down buckets. Obviously, the focus will in the late Spring to early Fall of this year.

image

Specifically, I am hoping we spend some time working on the yard, hiking, and taking Pippin out. Maybe we can squeeze in a couple of trips to a lake or something else equally fun. But after the summer we had last year, we definitely owe it to ourselves to have a fun summer.

So there we have it. 5 goals, all very attainable, reasonable, and all around conducive to improving our quality of life.

4 Responses

  1. Girl…these are awesome goals! I know 2012 is going to be my year of paying down debt caused in 2011 by wedding/honeymoon/school and hopefully by then we’ll have more income between the two of us to pay it down. I’m asking for a raise too! I would love to hear more about what you’re going to do/say when you ask because I’m totally scared too.

  2. Love your goals! And I share quite a few of them. Some people think it’s “just another day,” but I really do see Jan 1st as a day for re-starting and getting back on track. Here’s to an awesome 2011 for all of us! Yay 🙂

  3. Loved these goals, L!
    You can sure do it 🙂
    Happy New Year!
    xoxo

  4. Perfect goals, I know you can do it. Hmmm, I see another book in my future? BTW I have one to send to you…maybe with a necklace that I’m working on??? Happy New Year, Sunshine.

Leave a Reply

