Waffle Wednesday: Vegan Carrot Cake Waffles

When I saw Meghann’s carrot cake waffles this weekend, I knew I had to have them. ASAP. Except… we had no eggs. So I embarked on my first attempt at vegan waffles. The results weren’t bad,  but they weren’t perfect either so I guess this recipe is a work in progress.

Makes 5 huge waffles, 6 smaller would have been better! These are super calorie dense.

    • 1 cup All Purpose flour
    • 1 cup Whole Wheat pastry flour
    • 1 cup quick oats
    • 1/2 cup white sugar
    • 2 tsp cinnamon
    • 1 tsp nutmeg
    • 2 tsp baking soda
    • 2 tsp vanilla extract
    • 3 large carrots, grated
    • 1/2 cup canola oil
    • 2 flax eggs (2 Tbls ground flax, 6 Tbls warm water)
    • 1 cup soymilk
    • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
    • 1/2 cup craisins

059 

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl. The batter was super thick.

061

I had to use a lot of non-stick on the waffle iron to get them to come off clean. I also had to leave them on a little bit longer than normal to get them cooked through all the way.

063

They were super filling. I calculated them as coming in over 700 calories per waffle. Eek! I ate 75% of one, drizzled with agave.

093

They aren’t very pretty, that’s for sure. But they were delicious.

Huz’s eyes were way bigger than his stomach and he loaded up on two waffles with maple syrup and had a hard time putting them away.

120

Not sure if I’d make these again as is. But I like the concept. I think I’m more of a toppings gal though. I would prefer to just make carrot waffles and then top them with the walnuts and craisens so I can taste them more. They definitely got lost in the mix.

12 Responses

  1. They look healthy – which to me, looks oddly delicious!

    I know 700 calories seems like a lot, but I wonder what a normal waffle with butter and syrup would look like?

    • My normal waffles are anywhere between 350-450 calories depending on the variety I make so being almost twice as much is quite the difference for us!

  2. These look SO good!
    🙂

  3. Honestly, I like my waffles to taste like waffles, and my carrot cake to be light and fluffy with cream cheese frosting 🙂

  4. These look amazing! I love carrot cake…I think I could eat a regular waffle and a carrot cake cupcake for less calories though! ;P lol

  5. Wow ,you know, I have never even thought to do that with a waffle, but that does sound tasty! I’m in love with carrots

  6. How wonderful that you made waffles vegan! They look great!

  7. These look fantastic! I drooled a little when I saw Meghann make these, too.

  8. 700 calories per waffle?! =( Please tell me there was a mistake in the math somwhere. I’d love to make these waffles, they look delicious.

  9. I like carrot cake and I like waffles – to me this sounds like a great combination!

  10. Those do look really good. I’m not vegan, but I wouldn’t turn them down at all!

  11. These look like they are so worth the 700 calories! Yum!

Leave a Reply

