Vegan Broccoli Soup

Deliciously creamy and cheesy, you would have no idea this was a vegan soup!

017

After researching some broccoli casserole recipes for the Huz’s potluck last week and eyeing some broccoli soups I ran across, I was eager to have some in my life but my dairy sensitive tummy would have none of it. So I researched a few vegan recipes and ended up making my own concoction.

026

  • Makes five 2-cup servings
    • 1 block of soft (silken) tofu
    • 1 cup nutritional yeast
    • 1/4 of an onion
    • 1 Tbls minced garlic
    • 3 cups vegetable broth
    • 8-10 cups of broccoli florets, heavily steamed
    • 1/2 cup water
    • 1/4 tsp sea salt
    • 1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper
    • 3 dashes of cayenne
  • 1) In food processor, puree tofu, yeast, onion, and garlic. Add some vegetable broth if you need a bit of liquid to get it going.
  • 2) Remove “cheese” from processor and place in large pot over medium-low heat. Add vegetable broth and stir well.
  • 3) In food processor, puree broccoli with water. (I had to do mine in two batches.) If you prefer, leave it a bit chunky. Add broccoli to the cheese and broth mixture. Heat through.
  • 4) Add spices, adjusting salt and pepper to taste. You can also add more broth/water if you prefer a thinner version of the soup.

020 

In food processor, puree tofu, yeast, onion, and garlic.

001005

Remove “cheese” from processor and place in large pot over medium-low heat. Add vegetable broth and stir well.

013

In food processor, puree broccoli with water. (I had to do mine in two batches.) Add broccoli to the cheese and broth mixture. Heat through.

015

Add spices, adjusting salt and pepper to taste. You can also add more broth/water if you prefer a thinner version of the soup. 024

7 Responses

  1. I’d just made a mint and broccoli soup a couple of days back. Yours looks so much better! 🙂

    One question, though – what is nutritional yeast used for? or more precisely, whats it doing in a soup? I thought yeast was just for baking and such,,,

    • Great question! Nutritional yeast is different than active yeast used in baking; it is actually deactivated. It has a cheesy taste to it and is actually a really good vegan source of protein, b-vitamins, and fiber. I buy it in the bulk bins section of Central Market but you can also purchase it in a can or bag. I sprinkle it on salads and use it to make cheesy sauces.

  2. This sounds delicious! I’m not into all the creamy additions either, so this is something that I could use. Thanks!

  3. Wow, I just love the color of this soup. I think I would really enjoy it too! Also, congrats on project food blog! That is absolutely amazing!

  4. Thank you for this great recipe. I’ve just made it for lunch and it went down a treat with non vegans who commented on the “creamyness” of the soup. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Just made this gorgeous soup for lunch. The non vegans in our group were amazed at it’s creamy consistency and it’s given them food for thought. Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

