Lemon Brown Sugar Chicken

When I saw this on Jenna’s blog this weekend, I knew I had to try it. Except I didn’t have any fresh lemons on hand – blasphemy, I know.

151

So I improvised a bit, as I tend to do, and dare I say this is some of the best chicken I’ve had? You really can’t go wrong with lemon. Or sugar.

    serves 4

    2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, filleted
    2 Tbls lemon juice
    1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
    2 tsp paprika
    1 tsp sea salt
    1.5 T olive oil
    2 T brown sugar
    1 tsp lemon pepper seasoning

    Preheat oven to 350.

    Combine the flour, paprika and sea salt in a dish. Drop each chicken breast in the mixture and toss to coat completely.

    Heat the oil over medium high heat in a large skillet. Place each chicken breast in the oil and brown on both sides (should take only about four minutes). Remove chicken breasts.

    Pour the lemon juice in the pan and stir to deglaze. Put chicken breasts in a casserole dish and pour juice on top. Sprinkle with brown sugar and lemon pepper seasoning.

    Bake for twenty minutes, or until internal temperature reaches 165.

Combine the flour, paprika and sea salt in a dish.

090

Drop each chicken breast in the mixture and toss to coat completely.

089 094

Heat the oil over medium high heat in a large skillet. Place each chicken breast in the oil and brown on both sides (should take only about four minutes).

095

Remove chicken breasts.

Pour the lemon juice in the pan and stir to deglaze.

099

Put chicken breasts in a casserole dish and pour juice on top.

114

Sprinkle with brown sugar and lemon pepper seasoning.

120132135

Bake for twenty minutes.

143

I was so please with how easy and delicious this chicken was! I paired it up with some leftover risotto and a side of steamed broccoli and it was such a quick and easy dinner after a hard day of working in the yard.

145

Make sure you drizzle the juice over the chicken when you serve it. Then sop it up with your veggies – it’s amazing.

150

10 Responses

  1. oooh! Reminds me of something that would be on a menu at TGIF or Applebee’s! 🙂 Sounds great!

  2. This really sounds so delicious. Nice

  3. You know I’m a big fan of lemon! I think this would also be a great way to prepare pork chop! Broccoli is the perfect veg to have with it, I could almost taste the broccoli, dripping with the chicken sauce.

  4. I really love this! I have always enjoyed lemon and chicken together, they work really nicely.

  5. Leah, I will try this one. Greg always wants me to fry chicken, which I refuse to do…maybe he will like this almost as much.

  6. Looks so good! I’m definately going to try this one!

  7. This sounds like an awesome dinner! Love the lemon and brown sugar combo!

  8. Oh my, this sounds so very tempting! Thanks so much for sharing. Hope you’re having a wonderful day. & wishing you a Merry Christmas!
    Blessings, Kristy

  9. oh my… i made this last night (from memory, so i forgot the dredge in flour step).. oh my … so freakin good! the huz gave me a high 5 and my little ones were dancing when they tasted it… my 4 year old said, “I don’t like it, I love it!”…lol. Thanks! I love your blog

  10. Yum! I adore lemon (in fact I just took a lemon loaf out of the oven!). Lemons are definitely one of the items I always have on hand for salad dressings, baking, sauces etc. I love the smell of fresh lemon juice!
    This sauce sauce looks amazing! I’m definitely going to make this next week!

Leave a Reply

