How We Got Back On Track

For months, I’ve been complaining about how I’ve lost my workout mojo. A wedding, honeymoon, move, and new job totally threw me a curve ball and all of my motivation went out the window. Now, after bitching about it for far too long, I feel like I’m back in the game.

image

Now, 6 days in a row isn’t a lot (well, with today, it will actually have been 7) and I may be jumping the gun here by saying I’m back at her but since our gym record has been looking more like once a month, if we are lucky, I’d say this is a huge accomplishment for us.

So, how did I do it? Well, to start with, I didn’t. We did. Support system, all the way, baby! Huz and I spent at least two weeks of setting the alarm for the painful hour of 4:45a to hit the gym pre-work and every day, we’d grumble and push it back an hour in our sleep daze. Seriously? Yeah, we did that.

image

We told ourselves, ok. We just have to do this. 7 days in a row. No excuses, just do it.

Now obviously, we don’t plan to go on the daily but I think this was an integral aspect of building the habit for us.

We started on Saturday and were going strong… until Wednesday morning hit us. We were both dragging ass and the alarm got pushed back an hour. But we vowed to go after work. And when I got out of bed, I packed my gym bag, and I went after work. Just like that.

I also psyched myself up. I got nerdy.

image

Google Calendar, I love you.

image

So, my calendar is pink, Huz’s is blue, “our” calendar is purple, and workouts are teal. (We also have a green finances calendar we share as well, keeping track of all them billz but I have spared you that horror.) I’m planning out my workouts in advance and indicating when and what exactly was done.

Oh yeah, and a plan.

image

I’m a structure kind of gal. I’m a lot more successful when I have a “to do list” when I get in to the gym otherwise I find my motivation to wane. Some people can wing it. I’m not one of those people. So I turned to an old friend for a structured weight lifting program. 3 times a week, I’ll be pumping iron. The other days, I’ll be doing cardio and yoga where I can.

After just a few sweaty gym sessions, I can definitely tell that my spirits are lifted. But that might just be all the hot butter rums talking.

In all seriousness, I know that I that we still have a long way to go with getting our fitness to 1) where it used to be and then 2) where we want it to be but I find that getting started is really the hardest part. And I thought about holding off until the new year to be a resolution rat but sorry, those last three weeks in December are some of the most indulgent in the entire year so I gotta get crackin on the resolutions yesterday.

4 Responses

  1. Looks like my Google Calender! That’s how I track all of my workouts and I love it. Good for you getting back on track and I’m glad you could do it together. The bf and I cycle and hike together but we aren’t doing either this winter…

  2. Good job on the workouts every day, you are so organized, how’d that happen?

  3. Good for you for getting back on track! I have never used the google calendar, but it looks great. I am in a rut as well. You have inspired me to just do it.

  4. LOVE to hear this! Getting out the door (or out of bed even) is usually the hardest part. Even for me, who most people would qualify as a gym rat. Manohman I was complaaaaaining before dragging my butt to the gym today. But once I got there I had a good time 🙂

Leave a Reply

