White Chicken Chili

Beans, beans, the magical fruit!

047

I can’t get enough of cheap-o beans lately! And while I was perusing Claudia’s plate last week, chicken chili caught my eye. When I’ve made chili in the past, I have used ground turkey or ground beef, or even rocked a vegetarian version. For some reason, chicken never came to mind. So I did a bit of searching on my favorite internet recipe site, AllRecipes, and ran across this white chicken chili recipe that was dairy free and sounded like it had a  nice zing to it.

046

Zingy, alright!

014

Ingredients
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 Tbls garlic, minced
  • 1 (4 ounce) can diced jalapeno peppers
  • 1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chile peppers (HOT if you dare!)
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 2 heavy dashes of ground cayenne pepper
  • 4 cups chicken broth (I actually used a mix of chicken and veggie to use opened cartons!)
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 4 (15 ounce) cans white beans, rinsed and drained (I like a good mix of varieties!)
  • 1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 an avocado, sliced
Directions
  1. Throw all the ingredients, except cilantro and avocado, in the crockpot, simmer on low for 7-9 hours.
  2. Shred chicken, add the cilantro and stir well.
  3. Serve.Garnish with avocado slices.

I adore crockpot meals because they are ridiculously easy. I actually prepped it the night before, let it sit in the fridge overnight, then just popped it in the pot in the morning and let it ride. We had a busy evening planned so this was the perfect dinner.

Throw a bunch of crap in the pot and forget about it!

057

After simmering all day and shredding the chicken (which effortlessly falls apart after all the work the crock did!) then adding cilantro.

It smelled fantastic.

Top with avocado slices and indulge.

018

This was very spicy! So if you aren’t a spice fan, just do plain green chile’s instead of the jalapeno and the HOT green chile’s. The avocado helps to tone it down a bit; sour cream would also be very good on this but alas, we have none.

039

9 Responses

  1. Mmmmmm!! That looks AMAZING! This week I am going to do both a Chicken Tortilla soup AND another batch of chili 🙂 They both make great leftovers for a week! YUM!

  2. MMM!!! My husband will love this! All of his favorite ingredients. Love this one!

  3. I love spicy…this look great and so comforting!

  4. I think I would like this better than chilli con carne. What a great recipe.

  5. Hmmm…
    That definitely looks delicious 🙂

  6. Yum! Now I’m hungry…for beans! 🙂 This dish sounds awesome.

  7. I love that this is done in the crock pot! Chili always takes so long I make it on the weekend, but this is perfect.

  8. ooh I love WCC, I plan on making this!

  9. Haha. Love this: “Throw a bunch of crap in the pot and forget about it!” My kind of cooking!

    For being a foodie I am one lazy cook. Read: I do more of the eating and hubby does more of the cooking. Haha. I love baking though. It works out well.

    This looks like a good, hearty meal on a cold day. May have to try this soon. Hubby can have the avocados. I’m not a fan. Please don’t flog me. =)

Leave a Reply

