Mushroom Stroganoff

While digging around for ideas for meatless dishes, I ran across this recipe for Mushroom Stroganoff.

076

I have a thing for stroganoff. I think it goes hand in hand with the thing I have for sour cream. Maybe. And whenever I think about stroganoff, I think about my mommy – she’s made me a lot of stroganoff in her time! I’ve never actually had a ton of success with it on my own; I think it is because I always buy cheap meat so it’s tough and chewy, not melt in your mouth delicious.

But stroganoff without meat? Now that, I can do!

Ingredients
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 large onion, sliced
  • 1 pound baby bello mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • 2 Tbls soy sauce
  • 2 dashes of Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 cup plain greek yogurt (or sour cream)
  • 8 ounces dried egg noodles
Directions
  1. In a small saucepan, bring broth, wine, soy sauce, and Worcestershire to a boil and reduce by half.
  2. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add egg noodles, and cook until al dente, about 7 minutes. Remove from heat, drain, and set aside.
  3. At the same time, melt butter in a large heavy skillet over medium heat. Add onion, and cook, stirring until caramelized. Turn the heat up to medium-high, and add sliced mushrooms. Cook until the mushrooms are limp and browned. 
  4. Add reduced broth mixture to onions and mushrooms.
  5. Remove the pan from the heat, stir together the yogurt or sour cream; then blend into the mushrooms. Return the skillet to the burner, and continue cooking over low heat, just until the sauce thickens. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Serve over cooked egg noodles.

I love it when recipes are easy and delicious.

Start with the chopping…

020023

Can I have a mushroom, please?

024

Yes, she likes mushrooms. And spinach. And onion. She’s weird.

Start a small saucepan with the broth, wine and sauces to start reducing down.

040037 055

Caramelize the onions.

042

Oh lordy, heaven!

And add the mushrooms. Cook down until they are nice and tender.

045

Add the sauce and yogurt, stir up really well, heat through if necessary.

064

Serve over a bed of egg noodles. (I used quinoa noodles so they are obnoxiously yellow.)

068

Oh, dear. This was delicious.

075

I’m giving Mom a run for her money!

090

This was soooo yummy. Must. Make. Again. ASAP. You too. Go, make this! Now!

100

6 Responses

  1. Yum…I love stroganoff!

    Be careful, though…onions are toxic to dogs (and cats)!

  2. I love stroganoff but dislike mushrooms!

    Did you go caroling this weekend over by Gig Harbor?

  3. Loved this recipe, girl!
    My grandma usually does meat or chicken stroganoff at home… but she calls it “strogonoff”. Hehe.
    Can’t wait to try it at home 🙂

  4. Hey I recognize that box of wine…have you been in my fridge?

  5. Ok… the last pic says it all!!!

  6. I really like your blog! This take on stroganoff looks so easy and affordable to make! I am always looking for affordable but creative recipes to make for dinner so I am sure I will be stopping by again!

Leave a Reply

