Sweet Potato Bean Burritos

Continuing on my quest for budget friendly recipes (stir fry, falafel and hummus complete!), I ran across this beauty – more beans, please!

042

I just so happened to have 4 little tortillas left in the fridge, a pantry full of beans, and a few sweet potatoes on hand so this was perfect. I obviously had to shrink the recipe down quite a bit to accommodate our lowly four tortillas but it worked! Only a little bit of extra beanage leftover.

Ingredients
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons vegetable oil
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 cups canned kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup water  <- should have been half that amount probably!
  • 1 tablespoon and 1-1/2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons prepared mustard
  • 1/2 pinch cayenne pepper, or to taste
  • 1 tablespoon and 1-1/2 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 2 cooked and mashed sweet potatoes
  • 4 (8 inch) flour tortillas,
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Heat oil in a medium skillet, and saute onion and garlic until soft. Stir in beans, and mash. Gradually stir in water, and heat until warm. Remove from heat, and stir in the chili powder, cumin, mustard, cayenne pepper and soy sauce.
  3. Divide bean mixture and mashed sweet potatoes evenly between the warm flour tortillas. Top with cheese. Fold up tortillas burrito style, and place on a baking sheet.
  4. Bake for 12 minutes in the preheated oven, and serve.

I hadn’t read the ingredients super closely until I was getting ready to put this together and then it seemed really odd. Chili powder, soy sauce, and mustard? Um, ok. I just went with it.

038

Start by sautéing the onion and garlic.

041048

Then add the beans and mash away.

052059

I left mine a little chunky. I like it like that.

Then add the water. (I should have added this slowly until I got the desired texture but I dumped it all in and then ended up trying to boil most of it off.)

061 064 066

Then mix in all the spices and soy sauce.

069 070

Assemble!

085

I just cubed two sweet potatoes and microwaved them to death then mashed them up a bit – skins on and all! Got to get those added nutrients where you can!

071

A scoop of beans, a scoop of potatoes and roll!

082 083 088

My poor little tortillas were soooo full but fantastically so!

089

I sprinkled some cheese on two of them, just for the huzzie!

100 101

Then bake them to make them especially delicious.

104

I topped them with a bit of greek yogurt and Pace Picante Sauce. It definitely needed the wetness of the salsa on it.

107

For some veggies, I used up a free Fresh Express Chicken Taco Salad Kit.

047

While in SF, my mom gave me a freebie coupon she had been given by Fresh Express.

111

The amount of chicken was pretty measly but the “spicy” ranch was pretty darn good! We don’t do a lot of creamy dressings much anymore so it was kind of a treat!

(Shhh! The cheese that went on his burritos was from this kit!)

110

Threw together a pretty decent dinner on the cheap! I had everything on hand except the salad mix.

The burritos were decent, kind of odd flavors but somehow worked together. I would definitely make them again but maybe go my own way with the spices. I would have never thought to have put sweet potatoes in a burrito but it worked!

5 Responses

  1. For me definetly with the cheese and the addition of the youghrt is such a nice cooling touch! Thank you for sharing ^_^

  2. I LOVE sweet potatoes and this look so good. I must try these. Yummy 🙂

  3. Whoa, there must be a sweet potato and tortilla bug goin’ around, cuz I just made sweet potato enchiladas verdes! Your recipe looks great too! I’ll have to try a little soy in my beans next time.

  4. Another amazing recipe! Now this one is for me… I forced my kids (and husband!) to eat sweet potato last week and they made me promise not to serve it again for a while. I love it though.

  5. These sound delicious! I like the bean/sweet potato combo – we’ll have to try this. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

