Cranberry Almond Cake Bars

There is nothing healthy about these bars.

124

But they turned out fabulously. I mean, for me, anyway. You know I’m not much of a baker.

116

The only reason I made this was because I had 4 cups of fresh cranberries that have been staring me down in my fridge.

093

I looked at a couple of different recipes, namely this one, and sort of made it my own.

Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup amaranth flour
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 cups cranberries
  • 1 cup chopped almonds, blanched
  • 1 cup butter, melted
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup oatts
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9×13 pan.
  2. Combine the flour, sugar, and salt. Stir in the butter, beaten eggs, and almond extract. If you are using frozen cranberries, the mixture will be very thick. Spread the Stir in the cranberries and the almonds, spread the batter over the top into the prepared pan. Sprinkle with oats.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 40 minutes, or until a wooden pick inserted near the center comes out clean. Serve warm with whipped cream or ice cream.

It was actually fairly simple to make. I like that.

Combine the dry ingredients.

085 088

Add the wet.

107 108

Spread the cranberries on the bottom of the casserole pan.

101

Sprinkle almonds over the top.

105

Pour the batter over the top.

111

Sprinkle with oats.

112

Bake for 40 minutes.

118

Let cool.

Cut into 16 bars.

126

It was delicious. The right amount of sweetness to counteract the tart berries. And the almonds were a fabulous crunch.

123

*nom*nom*nom*

127

5 Responses

  1. Wow, that looks so tasty and wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

  2. What a wonderful idea. The recipes is delicious!. Thank you very much for sharing. All the best. Luna

  3. Yum! I am a cranberry fiend. I will be making these pronto! Looks easy to convert to gluten free too. Amaranth already is! 🙂

  4. I LOVE cranberries in desserts. Your cranberry almond cake bars look sooo good! I love how you wrapped them up, so cute! 🙂

  5. I absolutely love cranberries!!!! Your Cake Bars are so vibrant! LOVE IT! 😀

    xoxox
    Kathleen

Leave a Reply

