HUZ IN THE KITCH: Italian Chicken with Mushroom Marsala Sauce

So, if you’ve been following Leah’s blog for awhile, you should know that we’re regulars at our local Costco.  We swing by there almost every Friday afternoon/evening (you don’t want to be there around mid-day on a Saturday).  We pick up staples such as: eggs, bananas, spinach, onions, frozen veggies, etc.  Every now and then we get something fun and exciting.  On one of our more recent trips to Costco, we were given something fun and exciting for FREE!

The very first edition of “Smart Cooking – The Costco Way”

064

That’s right. Now Costco has published a recipe book that utilizes only their products. I was skeptical at first, but they actually have some rather intriguing recipes.  Leah went through the book and flagged a bunch of recipes she wanted to try and recommended that I give this one a shot:

070072 

Italian Chicken with
Mushroom Marsala Sauce
Cardile Brothers/Giorgio Fresh/
Monterey Mushrooms

4 boneless, skinless chicken breast
halves (about 6 ounces each)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/4 cup flour
4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
1 pound small fresh white and/
or crimini mushrooms, sliced
(about 6 cups)
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 cup Marsala or red wine
1 cup chicken broth

Season chicken breasts with salt and pepper. Lightly coat both sides of chicken with flour.

In a large skillet, heat 2 tablespoons of the oil over medium-high heat. Add chicken and cook until golden, about 2 minutes on each side. Transfer to a plate.

Reduce the heat to medium. Add remaining 2 tablespoons oil to the skillet. Add mushrooms and onions; cook and stir until tender, about 7 minutes.

Stir in Marsala and chicken broth. Return the chicken to the pan and simmer, covered, until no pink remains in the center, 10-12 minutes, or until a meat thermometer inserted in the center registers 170°F. Makes 4 servings.

This dish was really simple (even for me).  For the most part, I stuck right to the recipe only deviating by reducing the chicken breasts to two (because we didn’t need any leftovers) and substituting some leftover rice for the pasta.

075

Oh yeah, I also added an India Pale Ale (also purchased at Costco), but that was for the cook.  What can I say, I’m a bit of a lush.

The prep work was quick and painless.

089101   Get ready for something else fun and exciting….

092

I’m pretty sure that this was my first time filleting a chicken breast. Can you believe it?  I didn’t do a good job filleting it into two equal halves, though.  I ended up with one big piece and two smaller ones.

095

A quick dash of salt and pepper and a flour coating…..and into the pan they went.096 098 099 100

Cooked about 2 minutes on each side until they were golden, then removed them from the pan and tossed in the onions and mushrooms.

103105 106

After the onions became translucent and the mushrooms cooked down a bit, I added 1 cup of red wine (our favorite boxed wine isn’t available at Costco, sadly) and another 1 cup of chicken broth.  I then returned the chicken to the pan, covered it, and let it cook for about 10 minutes.  Before serving, I used our new digital meat thermometer to verify that the center of the chicken was over 170 degrees Fahrenheit.

 113118 123124

Mmmmmmmm.  Dinner also featured some green beans which were conveniently nuked in a steam bag (gotta get your greens in too).  

129 130 135

This dinner wouldn’t win any beauty contests, but it was quick, easy, and turned out pretty good.  I don’t know if I’d be that excited to make it again, though.  It didn’t have anything that made it memorable.  It definitely could’ve used a healthy dose of garlic and something else to spice it up a bit, I think.

Maybe I’ll choose something a little more challenging the next time I’m manning the kitchen. Hmmmm…

One Response

  1. I did a post on their cookbook on my blog because I agree, it is a good cookbook.

    If you are intrigued by the idea of cooking with foods from Costco, I hope you will check out my blog.

    And I would like to mention, nice food photography and you have a great blog.

    Mike

Leave a Reply

