Sweet & Sweaty Balls

Recipes are my security blanket. Without them, I’m a fumbling idiot in my kitchen.

But that doesn’t mean I stay true to them 100% – in fact, I rarely do.

But that little piece of paper printed off a website or spiral notebook or ratty cookbook somehow give me some peace of mind and allow me to move effortlessly through my favorite room in the house, night after night.

And then there are night’s that I decide to wing it.

It’s usually out of frustration; I have an idea in my head and can’t find a recipe that matches that idea and the ingredients I have on hand. So I say, Eff it! And try it on my own, grabbing ideas from the handful of recipes I scoured but entering my laboratory without my blanket, without my guide.

032

Somehow it works. But I’m always a little bit disappointed with the results.

This attempt was at Sweet and Sour Meatballs.

017

The balls just weren’t as firm as I’d have liked. (TWSS?) Maybe I just needed another egg? More breadcrumbs?

The sauce was all sorts of hot.

018

It ended up being a very interesting combination of POM, soy sauce, vinegar, garlic, black cherry preserves and about a 1/4 cup of sriracha. At least here, I know the error of my ways. I was a little too heavy handed on the hot sauce. We were sweatin’ bullets – it hurt so good.

025

I also had to cornstarch it up a bit at the end but that really isn’t a problem.

029

I also attempted miso-glazed peas and carrots.

image

Mostly, they just ended up tasting like rice vinegar. Not that I’m complaining. I love my rice vinegar.

033

Dinner was totally edible. Not great, but not bad either. We even choked down the leftovers for lunch yesterday without an catastrophes other then running out of water mid-way through lunch to find that the office water cooler was out of water.

Mostly this experience just showed me that I’m not to be left to my own devices in a kitchen. I’m a recipe follower. Always have been, always will be. I applaud those that are true inventors in the kitchen – it’s a tough gig!

3 Responses

  1. I am definitely a recipe follower. I rarely go off-recipe. I just don’t have the creativity!

  2. Thank goodness this wasn’t Jodus’ dish tonight “Huz’s sweet and sweaty balls”. You know I can’t resist a bad joke!

  3. My husband has a somewhat boring palate (I’m slowly working on this). Getting too creative usually results in me wasting a bunch of food or eating the same lunch for a week.

Leave a Reply

