By Request: Salmon Cheese Ball

Disclaimer: This is my dad’s recipe, not mine! I’ve never actually made this – he always brings it to special family functions and it gets devoured every time!

Thanksgiving 2010

Christmas 2009

Thanksgiving 2009

Grandma’s Retirement Party

509

    • 3 Packs of Cream Cheese
    • 1 bunch of green onions, chopped
    • 2-3 pieces of smoked salmon (You could probably used tinned as well, and it probably doesn’t have to be smoked. If you want that flavor, just add a tiny drop of liquid smoke I imagine.)
    • 1 cup of shredded cheese (he uses a combo of cheddar, parm, jack, mozz)
    • 2 Tbls Worcestershire
    • 1 Tbls lemon juice
    • garlic (I’m assuming powdered?)

I’m assuming you just mix it all up together. Feel free to adjust it to taste. He usually divides that recipe up into two balls, one for us and one for a friend (or more likely one all to himself!). Make sure you serve it up with thick crackers that can handle the weight of the ball!

3 Responses

  1. I love anything with cream cheese and smoked salmon! This looks great, thanks for sharing!

  2. Thanks for posting!! I cannot wait to try it!

  3. Great stuff! I make something similar that I unearthed from a vintage community cookbook. Saw your post headline in my feeds and had to swing by to compare notes =)

    Incidentally, I have made this both with hot-smoked and canned sockeye. As you mention, a little salt/smoke tweaking is necessary, but neither sit around long around a pile of crackers.

Leave a Reply

