Apple Pumpkin Butter

There has been a pile of apples on the counter, staring at me all week.

039

The thing with apples is that I really like them, but my tummy doesn’t. I bought a case at Costco on a whim and have eaten a couple plain, put some on oats, and every time, my tummy revolts. I had to figure out something to do with them.

Apple Pumpkin Butter

  • 6 apples, peeled and diced
  • 1.5 cups canned pumpkin
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp cloves

049050054056058

Mix all the ingredients in a crockpot, turn on to high for one hour, reduce to low, and simmer for 8-9 hours. Stir occasionally. Makes ~2.5 cups of Apple Pumpkin Butter.

062

Adjust the spices to your liking. Feel free to add sugar, salt, or whatever else suits your fancy. You can also puree it if you prefer it smooth but I like a little bit of chunk to it.

158

It’s fabulous on toast, waffles, muffins, and even eggs. I gave some to my boss and he dipped pretzels in it and said it was amazing. It’s also ridiculously easy.

6 Responses

  1. That looks nice! Too bad I do not have a crockpot… But I found that if I boil the apples along with my oatmeal in the pot, my stomach likes the result much better and it tastes a little bit like apple pie 🙂 have you ever tried this?

  2. Don’t you just love your slow cooker? It’s terrific for all kinds of things, isn’t it? This recipe is perfect for using up all those apples and leftover pumpkin. 🙂

  3. Genius! I have a stash of apples for over wintering, extra fresh pumpkin puree and L-O-V-E using the crock pot! It’s getting ready to snow; what could be better?! Thank you for this timely post!!!

    Pop over to my blog to enter in winning a seasonal cookbook before 11.30.10! You might find a winning seasonal recipe too. Thanks again.

  4. This recipe is perfect! I have left over fresh pumpkin puree, a stash of apples to over winter, it’s about to snow and anything I can put in the crock pot and forget about is welcome. Thanks for such a simple but delicious sounded dish! Going to make it right now….

  5. I haven’t pulled out my Crockpot in ages. You may have just changed that! Sounds delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

