Comfort Food: Meatloaf & Taters

Why is it that comfort foods are so unphotogenic?

027

But so, so good!

029

I’m a firm believer in needing to feed the soul and this is one of those meals. (Not to be confused with soul food. Nary a collard green or fried chicken leg in sight!)

First up: Turkey meatloaf!

033

I always base my recipe off of the Better Homes and Garden cookbook I have, but of course, true to form, changes were made.

Ingredients
  • 2    eggs, beaten
  • 3/4  cup  soymilk
  • 2/3  cup  panko breadcrumbs
  • 1  cup  finely chopped onion
  • 1  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/2  teaspoon  dried Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/8  teaspoon  black pepper
  • 1-1/2  pounds  lean ground turkey
  • 1/3  cup  ketchup
  • 2  tablespoons  packed brown sugar
  • 1  tablespoon  dry mustard
Directions

1. In a medium bowl combine eggs and milk; stir in bread crumbs, onion,  salt, sage, and pepper. Add ground meat; mix well. Lightly pat mixture into an 8x4x2-inch loaf pan.

2. Bake in a 350 degree F oven for 1 to 1-1/4 hours or until internal temperature registers 160 degrees F. Spoon off fat. In a bowl combine ketchup, sugar, and mustard; spread over meat. Bake for 10 minutes more. Let stand for 10 minutes before cutting into eight slices.

3. Makes 8 servings

I love how easy meatloaf is but I hate how long it takes in the oven! I’m all about quick dinners, especially during the week. I was hangry by the time this comes out.

016

In bowl, combine eggs, milk, bread crumbs, onion, seasonings, and ground meat.

019

Just dive in with your hands! It’s best that way, I promise!

020

I used to love doing this as a kid! I’d always volunteer!

026

Throw it all in a meatloaf pan and stick it in the oven!

028034

Bake until internal temperature reads 160*, it took about 1 hr and 15 minutes in my oven.

005

(Skim fat if necessary!)

Prep the ketchup topping!

038 043

Secret: fresh crushed mustard seeds!

037

Top the meatloaf with it and bake for an additional 10 minutes.

012

Gorgeous!

020

And you can’t have meatloaf without taters!

019

Made my standard way: butter, soymilk, greek yogurt, salt, pepper, garlic powder.

And a side of sautéed spinach for some green.

018

Now this is a darn good dinner.

034 035

And it also happens to make fantastic leftovers as well so it’s gotta be a winner, right?

3 Responses

  1. I’ve never made meatloaf but I’ve been craving it like crazy! This looks really good and I like that you used Ground Turkey.

  2. I love your ketchup topping… I’m always looking for new ways to spice up my meatloaves, and this looks great! Have a great week my dear 🙂

  3. delicious meatloaf

Leave a Reply

