Greek Lemon Rice Soup

Lemon lovers rejoice!

029

‘Tis the season of soups! But I actually think this cool lemon and dill soup would be better for Spring served lukewarm. Regardless, it was tasty and satisfying on this windy Fall day!

032

Brought to you by Eating Well: Greek Lemon Rice Soup

Ingredients
  • 4 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/3 cup white rice
  • 1 12-ounce package silken tofu, (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon turmeric
  • juice from one lemon
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh dill
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1 scallion, green and white parts divided and chopped
Preparation
  1. Bring broth and rice to a boil in a large saucepan. Reduce heat to a simmer and cook until the rice is very tender, about 15 minutes.
  2. Carefully transfer 2 cups of the rice mixture to a food processor. Add tofu, oil and turmeric; process until smooth. Whisk the tofu mixture, lemon juice, dill and pepper into the soup remaining in the pan. Heat through.

Start by bringing the broth and rice to boil. I used basmati rice. I have a love for the long grain.

011

While the broth was being brought to boil, I got to work on chopping and preparing the rest of the ingredients.

1 lemon, juiced.

012

I attempted to shave pretty strands of lemon rind off to garnish the soup but I broke my microplane with the tool on it. I guess I know what we are ordering with our $25 gift card to Chefs.com from the Foodbuzz swag bag!

Chop the green onion.

013

And the dill.

015

Black pepper and turmeric.

017

{If I were to make this again, I’d add more black pepper.}

Puree the tofu with turmeric, lemon juice, and 2 cups of boiled broth and rice mixture.

018

{This was my first time having “silken” tofu and I must say – I think it makes an excellent cream substitute in this soup! I will keep this tid bit of knowledge readily accessible for my lactose intolerant tummy!}

019

Return tofu mixture to remaining broth mixture, add the dill, pepper, and white parts of the green onion, whisk and heat through.

020 023

Sprinkle soup with green onion tops and serve.

032

We only got two large servings out of this because apparently we are hungry hungry hippos. It’s a very light soup and low calorie. Even with our double portions, it was under 300 calories. Consider doubling the recipe if you are an eater and want leftovers!

Leave a Reply

