Dining Out: Sogno di Vino

Anything related to wine in the name of a restaurant must be good, right?

065

Known for it’s wood fire pizza, Sogno di Vino is located on Poulsbo’s main drag: Front Street.

Welcome to Sogno di Vino, an Italian restaurant and wine bar in historic downtown Poulsbo and straight from the heart of Tuscany. Italian for "Dream of Wine," we invite you to relax and taste our wood-fired pizzas, fresh pasta, salads and desserts. Or try our house specialties like Lamb Ossobucco, Tuscan Steak, or Braised Beef Short Ribs. We have a wine & spirits bar offering more than twenty wines by the glass. We also have a wine cellar and retail wine shop offering a large selection of wines from the Pacific Northwest, Italy and California. We’re committed to making sure Sogno di Vino is your place to taste, relax, and return…again and again.

With a large fireplace, outdoor patio seating, and scenes of Tuscany painted on the walls, this is a cozy restaurant, suitable for a romantic date or a fun family dinner.

074 071

Full of wine barrels, decor of corks, wood beam ceilings and red brick walls, I loved the atmosphere and immediately felt at home. Sadly, on this trip, we elected to forego wine but the extensive list did look appetizing. We were here for one thing and one thing alone: the pizza.

113

To start, we each ordered a salad.

I opted for the warm spinach salad – anything with bacon is a winner in my heart.

082

And I was not disappointed!

091

I was pleasantly surprised to see chanterelle’s in my salad; it is obvious that Sogno di Vino uses quality ingredients in their kitchen and I can appreciate that. Full disclosure: I did pick out the bitter curly endive that infiltrated the beauty of the spinach, chanterelle’s and bacon.

Husband selected the Caesar, his go-to salad.

096

I stole a nibble and was not wowed, unfortunately. But I am spoiled – husband makes a delicious and incredibly flavorful (read: garlic heavy) Caesar dressing.

Our dining experience also included a complimentary small plate of bread. This bread, oh, there are no words.

085

The crusty white bread was drizzles with what I think was an extra virgin olive oil, crushed garlic, and perhaps a bit of oregano.

We have no shame – we politely asked for a second plate worth and demolished it in .2 seconds. I think this bread itself is worth coming back!

But the pizza also didn’t disappoint!

107

I selected the Pizza of the Day to share with Huz.

081

A 9” pizza is perfect for us to split after salad and a couple of bread bites.

103

The crust was chewy and crispy at the same time: my ideal wood fired pizza! My only real complaint is that I would have liked to have more toppings. I couldn’t detect the bleu cheese at all and while I loved the contrast of the sweet figs with the salty prosciutto, I never got them in the same bite.

The bottom line: Yes, we would return again. I’m confident with sticking to their pizza selection as it is their specialty but there were non-pizza items on the menu that were mouth-watering. An additional note: I love that they offer a gluten-free option for their pasta dishes! Add this to a list of Dad-friendly places to dine!

3 Responses

  1. Anything with bacon is a winner in my book also. I love warm spinach salads.

  2. I’ve been searching for a delicious caesar dressing recipe. My FI and I love garlic and caesar salads….I hope you can post the recipe 🙂

  3. Sinful, sinful pizza, bacon and bread! You have to take me there when I come visit.

Leave a Reply

