Dining Out: Old Town Bistro

The really great thing about the boy having the day off?

095

Him treating me to lunch!

062

This was our first time at Old Town Bistro. My boss is thinking about having an event here so I kind of wanted to scope it out. The menu sounded divine!

071

The atmosphere was a bit off for me. I feel like it had the potential to be a really nice place but the fact that it moonlights as a nightclub actually is a drawback, in my opinion. I much prefer the martini & wine bar sort of atmosphere. The large dance floor in the middle of the restaurant was an eyesore!

065

And I wasn’t a huge fan of the patio-style table and chairs.

074

There were a couple of overstuffed couches and fun decor in a couple of corners of the joint that would be fun to hang out with girlfriends over Cosmopolitans.

063

I went into our lunch date knowing exactly what I wanted to order after perusing the menu online but much to my dismay, the menu had changed recently and they had not updated the website. I was sad I couldn’t order the saffron risotto I saw online! You know me and my risottos!

The Huz split a Meze Platter with me.

077

Complete with homemade naan, tzatziki, baba ganoush, hummus, pickled vegetables, whole cloves of garlic, feta, and a few olives.

085

I thought this was all really quite good, especially the baba ganoush. I wasn’t overly impressed with the tzatziki which I am usually a fan of. The pickled vegetables were also quite interesting – very mild in flavor.

For the main part of my lunch, I ended up going with the Soup du Jour: Pumpkin Potato with a honey wheat roll.

076

I was really happy to see Old Town Bistro incorporating some seasonal flavors into their specials! {A chalk board would have been a whee bit classier than the white board with yesterday’s halibut residue!}

The soup was very mild and very thick – perfect for a bitter cold day on the Olympic Peninsula!

090

It was actually quite filling and I definitely shared the generous (but only $5!) portion with my husband.

091

Jodus ordered the Sweet/Spicy Flatbread Pizza.

075088

I stole a couple of bites. And it was delicious! A little too bready for my taste but the toppings were paired nicely.

I definitely think that we will return to Old Town Bistro, at least for Happy Hour and to try one of their famous martini’s but this also made a great mid-week lunch date and with our tab + tip coming in around $25, I think we definitely have a winner!

2 Responses

  1. How nice that you got to have lunch out. with the hubby. Despite some of the “tackiness” it seemed like a nice place to go.

  2. That flatbread pizza looks absolutely incredible! Yum 🙂

Leave a Reply

