Curry Corn Coconut Soup

I’ll be honest, our fridge is looking mildly sparse ever since I went to San Francisco.

Monday night, I managed to throw together a stir-fry with freezer ingredients.

006003 007010019

[New chopsticks ala Chinatown, SF!]

Last night, I dolled up some Southwestern Quinoa that I made for Huz right before I left. Amped up with a chicken breast (for the two of us) and served over spinach (purchased last night on a Costco run) and a spoonful of Pace Picante Sauce on top from Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program freebie.

024

Tonight, I managed to cook what I would call a “real meal”, still operating on minimal groceries.

105

Curry Corn Coconut Soup

Inspired by Eating Well’s Curried Corn Bisque.

  • 2 teaspoons canola oil
  • 1 medium onions, chopped
  • 5 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons curry powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 4 cups frozen corn kernals
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 can “lite” coconut milk
    • In a large pot, sauté onions in oil over medium-high eat until translucent. Add garlic, cook 1 minute. Add spices, mix thoroughly. Add corn and chicken broth. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Using stick blender, blend soup to desired consistency. Stir in coconut milk. Heat through. Serve.

    In a large pot, sauté onions in oil over medium-high eat until translucent.

    027

    [Do you see an onion milk heart?!?!]

    028051

    Add garlic, cook 1 minute.

    035052058

    Add spices, mix thoroughly.

     034059061064

    Add corn and chicken broth.

    030069 033

    [I love how generic the new Kirkland Chicken Stock looks!]

    085

    Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes.

    091

    Using stick blender, blend soup to desired consistency.

    090

    Stir in coconut milk.

    031093

    Heat through. Serve.

    104

    I made some garlic toast on the side for some dippage but naan would have been really good.

    099

    I give this recipe a C+. I didn’t think it was balanced very well. And I suppose I should have blended it more because the consistency was off. Maybe next time I give it a shot I’ll add some lentils to thicken it up a bit.

    100

    A dollop of yogurt would have been good as well – to cut down the spice. I just have the feeling I made too many changes to the original recipe. Oh well. Maybe I’ll give the original a shot one day.

    Leave a Reply

