So Long, San Fran!

I’m not going to lie. Yesterday was rough. After partying way too hard and not getting nearly enough sleep, I was sufficiently hungover.

I eventually made my way down to the Farewell Brunch and got some food.

FBZFEST Going Home 001FBZFEST Going Home 004 FBZFEST Going Home 010FBZFEST Going Home 011

But I only ate a piece of bacon and some cantaloupe and could not stomach the rest of it.

FBZFEST Going Home 015

I moaned and groaned in bed for a bit then finally packed up and headed downstairs to checkout feeling pretty sick but I did it to myself I guess. I did manage to muster up the energy and have the nausea subside long enough to tromp around in the rain with my mom a bit!

First stop: chocolate!

FBZFEST Going Home 016FBZFEST Going Home 020  

They had the cutest little truffle boxes!

FBZFEST Going Home 018 FBZFEST Going Home 021

I got myself the smallest box of truffles they had – six pieces total.

FBZFEST Going Home 023

Then we made our way over to Chinatown!

FBZFEST Going Home 024

The rain was pretty miserable. My jeans were drenched. But we were on a mission!

FBZFEST Going Home 026

We hit a couple of stores and ended up in a cute tea shop!

FBZFEST Going Home 029

We saddled up to the bar and got a mini lesson and tasted a few samples.

FBZFEST Going Home 031FBZFEST Going Home 032

It was very informative!

FBZFEST Going Home 034 FBZFEST Going Home 038

And I’ve decided *officially* that I detest black tea. Green, White, Herbal, Flower? Rock on. Black? Hellz no. I did end up taking home a small bag of Siberian Rose Bud tea! Yum!

We purchased a few souvenirs and made our way back to the hotel for the shuttle to the airport. The ride was nauseating. Awful. I mean, it didn’t help that I felt like crap. Or that I’d hardly eaten and by this time it was 2pm. The driver was crazy! Ugh! But I held it together, said “See ya” to my mom and headed into the terminal.

And I got bumped from my flight.

Then my new flight was delayed.

Awesome.

I made a beeline for the first dining establishment I laid eyes on.

FBZFEST Going Home 039

Turns out it was a sustainable seafood joint! Rock on!

FBZFEST Going Home 040

I went back and forth on what to get and eventually gave into my hangover and ordered greasy fish & chips. A salad wasn’t gonna hack it today.

FBZFEST Going Home 042

I actually loved where I sat! I had a great shot of the open kitchen. I was mesmerized by the chefs!

FBZFEST Going Home 043

My lunch (dinner?) totally hit the spot.

FBZFEST Going Home 046

After I devoured, I tweeted with a new friend and hobbled my way to Mara’s gate and chatted for a bit since I had, um, 2 hours to kill. She’s adorbs.

Then I headed back to my gate and camped out on SFO’s free wifi! Score! And then my laptop died. And then my phone almost died. And then I got on a plane, got off a plane, kissed my husband, we drove home, pet the dog, and crashed hard.

This weekend was exhausting but SO much fun. I have a lot of things roaming around my head about it and about me and blogging and this community. Stay tuned…

6 Responses

  1. We are tea opposites! I love black tea, white tea, and a very select few green teas. I only tolerate herbal!

  2. That definitely looks like a meal to hit the spot when feeling ick/hungover.

    Those little figurines are too cute! And mmmm for the truffles.

  3. Yum, that fish & chips look gooood. Glad you enjoyed your weekend 🙂 xxx

  4. hi leah! it was so nice meeting you and your mom on saturday night. your recap is so funny.. didnt realize you guys drank that much wine! i stopped drinking at the table because i was getting SO sleepy! the food was awesome though.. i wish i had a doggy bag so i could take it home. hope you had a great time and maybe we’ll see you again next year!

  5. I must say, I am sorry I missed out on Saturday’s shenanigans, but not sorry I missed out on that hangover! 😛 Fish and chips actually look almost as good as a lot of the things we ate at the festival!

    I’m feeling feverish. Still crashing from San Fran :\

  6. What an incredible event!!! Thanks for posting so many great images and accounts of the festival, as well as your tour of San Fran, I didn’t get to see much of the city due to time limitations….next time for sure!
    Cheers
    Dennis

Leave a Reply

