I’ve Been Cheating On You

It wasn’t very nice of me to have a big revelation, make some hopefully-life-changing goals, and then leave you in the dark now was it?

The truth is, I’ve been cheating on you.

image

In an effort to find some balance in my life, work on some of those goals I made for myself, and trying to better my self esteem, I’ve gone back to the dreaded calorie counting. I’ve been at it for a little over a week actually.

image

I haven’t been as nazi-ish about it as I was when I was in serious weight loss mode. I’m not weighing my food or entering in all of my recipes. I am just finding entries that I feel closest match what I ate. Since I’ve calorie counted off and on for a few years now, I’m a pretty good judge of it.

image

So over the past week or so, I’ve had some things reaffirmed.

1) Exercise makes a difference.

Even though I’m not exercising a ton, every little bit helps. In the past 7 days, we’ve been to the gym 3 times, done yoga once, and walked the dog 4 times. Even if I’m only burning an extra couple hundred calories a day, those calories add up.

And then there is the endorphin bit. I feel better about myself and I definitely think I’ve been more chipper. That right there is worth it.

But I do still have some foot issues. After ellipticizing on Tuesday, walking the dog that night, then ellipticizing on Thursday, my plantar fasciitis was screaming at me. Lesson? Stretch more. Stretch better. And mix it up. Cardio is my nemesis. Not because I don’t like it but because my feet don’t like it. So I’m hoping that this upcoming week will be more weightlifting centric at the gym but intense enough to get my heart rate going.

2) I’m bad on the weekends, good during the week.

Generally speaking, this is true. I think on the weekends, I tend to be inclined to enjoy a glass of wine, we dine out more frequently, and I can’t refuse a good dessert from a local bakery. I’m not seeing this as a negative. I’m just seeing it as something I need to be aware of.

image

And there is an ebb and flow to it. If you look above at the chart with my past 6 days tracked, Saturday and Sunday were “over my limit” whereas during the week, I was under. This is okay. Some people will call it “calorie cycling”, I am just going to call it life.

Also, for giggles, look at the first Net Calorie Chart versus the second. I’m getting better! Please also note, this is NET CALORIES. Not to be confused with calories consumed. Net Calories = Calories Consumed – Calories Burned. I also generally assume that my calories burned is an overestimate and my calories consumed is an underestimate so these calorie calculation are very rough estimates. But it helps me stay on track. And it isn’t an exact science. But if it makes me think twice about eating half a chocolate bar at night, it’s worth it.

3) I need more fiber in my life.

I’ve actually said this before and tracking reaffirmed it.

image

(Holy fat attack! Thank you, almond butter!)

I wasn’t always this low on my fiber but I was more often than not right at the required minimum. This is not acceptable for me. I’ve also been having serious digestion issues the past year. Maybe related? Maybe not. Either way, I really need to focus on increasing my fiber by way of fresh produce and whole grains.

And with all that being said, I promise, nothing particularly exciting has been happening in the kitchen this week.

Breakfasts have included breakfast burritos of sorts and leftover pancakes.

001041 027

Lunches have been leftovers, obviously, of squash soup, chili made this weekend and some smelly 40 clove garlic chicken that I wasn’t happy with (I need to get my hands on my mom’s recipe again!).

014

I think the only remotely interesting kitchen moment I’ve had all week was making a GIANT batch of brown fried rice for Jodus’ potluck and much to my dismay, him bringing home mass quantities of leftovers.

035

I’ll now be eating fried rice for the rest of the month because I refuse to throw away perfectly good food. Any good ideas for leftover fried rice?

And I guess dinner turned out decent enough last night.

030 032

I just pan fried some tofu and onion, mixed it up with pesto and wheat noodles and called it good. Not too shabby.

PS – If you happen to be on Livestrong, I am leahault. Feel free to add!

image

5 Responses

  1. I think I need to start tracking too. I’ve been having too many evenings with Ben and Jerry. 😦

  2. I’ve been calorie counting too (I have LoseIt on my ipod Touch) and I’m curious to see how it works out for you, because it isn’t seeming to help me in the weight loss category. It helps keep me on track (or at least, when I go off track I know it) but other than that…I don’t know. Do you pay attention to the macro ratios when you count? I’m always at 55-60% carbs no matter how much I try to add protein and fat in there :-/

  3. I guess I don’t get why calorie counting is dreaded? People screw up their noses when I say those words “calorie counting.” It may not be for everyone but there’s nothing wrong with it. In fact, I lost 110 pounds just by doing that. It works. I still count my calories.

  4. I won’t comment on calorie counting because I ignore it (even though it works).

    Can you make a nice soup from your leftover rice?

    BTW if you are counting calories, ignore the post on my site….

  5. Have you tried getting orthodics for your feet problems. I did and they are great now. No more numb toes on the eliptical either.

    I use Diet Tracker from Spark people. They are a good site too. Have a lot of graphs and points for checking in and posting things, etc.

    Lastly, Max Muscle is great for helping to plan out meals. I use them and they are so friendly. The Portland Marathon training group uses them too.

    Lia

Leave a Reply

