Seven Layer Tortilla Pie

Layer upon layer upon layer!

075

Sometime last week, I ran across this recipe for Seven Layer Tortilla Pie. It wasn’t really like anything I’d ever made before so I wanted to give it a shot! And I loved that it was vegetarian! Mmmm, beans! The only change I made was to use veggie shreds instead of cheese.

008

Secret ingredient?

004

I received two jars of Pace Picante Salsa as part of the Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program. I LOVE Pace. It is hands down, one of my favorite salsas! Truth: I love Newman’s Own for the Peach Salsa but for regular salsa? Mmm, Pace, please!

006

I thought about making my chicken tortilla soup but decided… meh. That’s old hat. I wanted to try something new!

Start with a tortilla in a pie dish.

009

Add a heaping 1/2 cup of mashed pinto beans, salsa, and garlic mixture.

007

Sprinkle with cheeze.

010

Then another tortilla, black bean, salsa, tomato, and cilantro mixture, topped with cheese.

011

Repeat!

013

Bake at 400* for 40 minutes.

This is a good time to do attempt some yoga.

020 021 022023 028

Ever done yoga with an 80lb dog? It ends up a wrestling match.

042 034

Saved by the buzzer!

071 078082083

I topped the pie with more salsa, a dollop of Chobani, and a sprinkle of cilantro.

088090

I liked this meal, but I didn’t love it. It basically tasted like a bean burrito. But I think it has serious potential. It could be amped up with more spices, maybe some corn, jalapenos, and be really delightful. I’m not giving up on it yet!

4 Responses

  1. Great looking “stack”! GREG

  2. That looks delicious! I’m obsessed with mexican-ish food. YUM

  3. Haha, Pippin cracks me up. On the rare occasion that I try to work out at home I have the same issues with our puppies. I’m sure that’s why my Wii avatar weighs so much, the dogs are always stepping on it…or maybe not but it could be true….I’d like it to be true…

  4. Every time I do yoga in my living room, my two cats try as hard as they can to make in nearly impossible for me to do so.

    Thanks for making me feel better about my yoga attempts!

Leave a Reply

