Phoenix: Day 1: Green, Gardens, Oregano’s

Some Housekeeping

Before I dive into Phoenix recaps, just a few things to note.

1) A HUGE Thank You to my bloggie friends that provided awesome

guest posts to keep you all entertained while I played!

Did you miss their posts?

2) I’m sure that you already know but unfortunately, I am no longer in the Project Food Blog Challenge.

image

Thank You all for your support! I never expected to make it all the way and my time has come. It was a lot of fun tackling Turkish cuisine and hosting an Indian themed dinner party for my family!

3) I missed my damn dog a whole bunch!

072

But she had a great time getting spoiled at my dad’s!

OK! On to the cacti!

Friday morning, the alarm went off at 4am, we were at the airport by 6am rip roaring to go!

I packed a bag of carrot muffins and a watered down POM for the trip.

001

When we got to the airport and through security, the boy and I made a bee line for Bux and split a venti soy misto with 2 pumps of Pumpkin Spice.

003

I almost look awake!

The flights were seamless. The only hang up we had was getting the rental car. The line was loooong and it took 45 minutes of just waiting in line then 10 minutes of paperwork, another 10 minutes of locating the car, and then finally, we made it to lunch, only an hour late. Ugh.

Anyway, I took the liberty of taking charge of lunch on Friday. I consulted a PHX blogger, Alyson, who actually just moved to TX but anyway, she offered up a few great suggestions and I based the decision 100% on location. The lucky winner was Green. Jodus’ poor family was pretty much scared to death of the place – it’s *gasp* an all vegetarian joint!

006 008

I ordered the buffalo “chicken” sandwich with tahini slaw.

013012

I devoured it. Loved every bite.

014

Jodus ordered a veggie spicy burger that was also delicious.

011

The salads that Trish (MIL) and Kelly (SIL) looked great.

009 010

I’m happy everyone obliged in my restaurant choice though I don’t think the others enjoyed it quite as much as I did.

After lunch, we headed to the Botanical Gardens – who knew Phoenix had gardens!

017019027178 214

It was so great to just walk around and chat with family!

Want to meet the cast?

Chris and Kelly – Jodus’ sister and her significant other, direct from Texas!

051

Dylan and Amanda, Jodus’ brother and his significant other.

135

And you all know The Huz.

063

And moi.

065

And the mother hen, Trish!

181

The whole clan!

149

It was really odd for Trish – all three of her children were paired off with significant others for the first time at the same time all in one place.

055175 176

We had a splendid time prancing around the gardens! Here’s some cacti and wild flowers for you!

030046 049 053 058 060 131 133 134 172150 154198   174 182 036 039 042229220 221 224

We paid the extra $3 each to go into the monarch butterfly garden – so worth it!

088095 092100117128137142

We also came across some wildlife!

165193

Right at the entrance, there were these gorgeous glass sculptures resembling cacti.

025 031

I obviously went a little picture crazy at the gardens but I really loved it!

043160 159  179 180 197 203

After we were sufficiently hot and tired of tromping around, we headed to our fav pizza joint – Oregano’s.

236

We came last year the day we got in so I think this is going to be a new tradition!

Chris, Jodus, and I split a pitcher of a local Hefe.

243

We started with garlic bread. x2!

250

I really didn’t feel like dealing with the digestive issues that come with pizza so I was a lone ranger and ordered a salad. A really bomb kick ass salad.

254

This thing was massive and delicious and I ate it. all.

267 

I can’t help it. Waking up at 4am makes me crazy.

The rest of the group split a couple of medium pizzas!

265

And what would a trip to Oregano’s be without a baked cookie with ice cream?!

273

And seven spoons for sharing.

270

And just as delicious as I remember.

After dinner, I went topless.

279

I ditched the rental car and hopped in with Trish for the hour drive to her place, north of the city! It was a fun trip with the top down!

There may have been an entire zucchini cake and 3 dozen chocolate chip cookies at the house for us.

284

Somehow, it all disappeared by the time we left, sans 2 cookies that I polished off tonight with the help of my husband!

One Response

  1. Really cool photos of flora and fauna, love the butterfly shots!
    LL

Leave a Reply

